Another day another dollar…

another month another… mollar? No, that’s not right. In fact, its plain damn stupid. [Best I get my head sorted out before someone finally susses that I’ve totally lost the plot.]

Anyway, the point being… here we are, another month, and another update from Mikeland. This seems to be getting to be a bit of a habit. Oh well.

So there I am, beginning to score some significant points off this ’ere ’orribleness of mine when what goes and happens? Wham, just like that? Bloody feet and legs decide to start playing silly buggers. Why, how, what? Dunno… not yet at least, although I’ll sus it in time. But for the past 3-4 weeks I’ve been hobbling around with a walking stick like some decrepit old codger. Guess a Zimmer frame will be the next stage!

Hmm. Decrepit old codger eh? Well now, p’raps there’s a bit more truth to that than I’d care to… nope! Not having any of it. Soon as I get all this crap out of the way I’ll be back on form again, prancing around like some… like some… like some lunatic who doesn’t know his own age. And no doubt with uglymug bullying me once again (for some bizarre reason he seems to have laid off that the past few months. Can’t imagine why).

But this walking stick bullshit is actually the very last thing I needed. On top of everything else. Guess these things are sent to try us, though at the mo’ it’s proving bloody difficult trying to find the silver lining to this particular dark cloud.

Though, as regards the why, the horrible little recollection keeps popping into my brain of past conversations… conversations with friends who have related to me nasty little tales of aging life-long smokers, having giving up for good, some months down the road losing the use of their legs.

Oops. Have I not mentioned about the smoking thing? Well, I’ve given up. For good! Admittedly it’s only been since the end of December, but nevertheless. Thing is y’see, on past occasions when I’ve stopped for a while I’ve never, literally never, said that I’ve quit. Not to myself, or to anyone else. I’ve always said “I’ve stopped for the time being”.

But this time… well, this time’s different. After much pondering and heavy soul-searching I’ve finally decided… to quit for good. There. So now you know!

Meanwhile, behind the innocent façade of a decaying old house (well, perhaps that’s a bit unfair… more like a house being gradually taken over by Nature) something sinister stirs.

The something sinister in question being my fetid mind.

For I’ve discovered that I can’t gaze unthinkingly at a wall of prints for weeks, days, even hours at a time without eventually something happening. Patterns. Little groupings. This belongs with that. That belongs with this. This and this definitely go together. Not sure about that. Doesn’t seem to fit anywhere. Nope. Absolutely not. Remove it entirely.

And then words, slowly beginning to weave themselves in and out and around the various little groupings. Or rather, thoughts of words… describing thoughts; some trivial… clichéd even, some profound, some completely mad, emerging bit by bit from that fetid mind of mine.

It’s Magic! Watching Order appear slowly out of Chaos. Patterns gradually forming, practically of their own volition, from utterly random images tossed as though by some giant kaleidoscope. Is this not a true Act of Creation? I tell you, its sheer Magic.

Mind you, I’m not entirely convinced these little groupings, these thoughts, are precisely what I’d originally visualised, way back when. In fact, I’d even go so far as to say they’re not. But no matter. This is what I shall be working with. Slowly. Over the coming months. Maybe even into next year. Or the one beyond. Again, no matter. I always (or nearly always… except when I’m being mercenary!) work to my own unique timescale. Heh heh.

And that’ll do for this month’s photography update. TTFN good folk.

😉

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Photography Chat, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another day another dollar…

  1. technogran1 says:

    Still finding time to blog then Mike? I dunno, hobbling around? Old Codger? You sound like me and I have an excuse!

    • fotdmike says:

      Heh heh. Yep, no excuses at all.
      Time to blog? Too much time, but not enough energy; or will; or motivation. I dunno. Something. These monthly updates are all really just to let me ‘net friends know I’m still in the land of the living, and how I’m progressing… or not, as the case may be.
      😉

  2. vic says:

    “Not having any of it. Soon as I get all this crap out of the way I’ll be back on form again, prancing around like some……..” That’s the spirit, although I dare say it’s much easier said than done! keep at it, out there in Mikeland 😉
    Hope you’ll be out with your camera again sometime, this year? as long as it takes.
    Best regards
    Vic

  3. forkboy says:

    Better late than never…

    I’m actually glad to hear you have given up the tobacco. While I know it’s hard the results should be positive and favourable for you. Continued luck I wish you.

    And you must have been feeling better with this post as there was much less about the ‘horribleness and more about.. well… anything and everything else!

Leave a Reply

