I haven’t been totally idle

My, what a busy little person I’ve been… knocking out a whole flurry of blogposts. “So where are they then?” did I hear someone ask? Or was that just one of my hallucinations?

Yeah, well, that’s the thing y’see. They’re not actually here. Not as such. Wot with them not being photo-related or anything. Nope. Not even tenuously. They’re sort of… er… over at my other blog; wot you might call my proper one.

But I thought I’d just post this to prove I haven’t been totally idle.

Heh heh.

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Not Photography, Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I haven’t been totally idle

  1. technogran1 says:

    What do you mean, your ‘proper one?’ What’s this one then? Your improper one? You mean your ‘paid for WordPress.org one don’t you? I do hope your not going to begin to neglect this one Mike. Us poor people who have to rely on ‘all things free’ need WordPress.com. And anyway, I think that you get more strangely enough with this version of WordPress.

    • fotdmike says:

      Heh heh. “Proper” as in I actually have to think about what I’m writing there (well, sometimes) whereas this one tends to be a bit more frivolous. And no, never fear, I’ve absolutely no intention of neglecting this one… I enjoy it far too much (and have invested too much of me time here as well!).
      😉

      Your comment re the .com vs the .org version is interesting though, and I’ve often toyed with the idea of doing a sort of “pros and cons” blogpost about it… ‘cept that’d mean I’d have to start thinking again!
      Anyway, as you prob’ly know, the .org platform itself is also free, but… its self-hosted, which does of course mean the hosting has to be paid for.

      I certainly prefer the .com version for its ease and lack of maintenance which means you don’t have to be constantly worrying about having the latest versions of everything (the platform itself, themes, plugins etc) although, unlike yourself, I find it far more limited.

      For example, there are literally hundreds (if not thousands) of plugins and add-ons that enable the .org version to be extended in almost every way imaginable that simply isn’t possible with the .com version. Also, there are many more themes to choose from or you can even create your own from scratch (assuming the know-how’s there) without any additional cost. Plus the only limit to the amount of embeds (pics, video etc) you can upload is that dictated by the webspace in the hosting package. And of course you can use it in a commercial context in ways that aren’t strictly permitted with the .com version.

      The downside being… yeah, you need to be paying for some sort of hosting, and you’re totally responsible for everything… updates, maintenance, security etc etc, all of which can be a real pain sometimes. Particularly if something gets broken and you have to sort it out. And of course the .org version is outside of the massive .com user community.

  2. technogran1 says:

    Yes I know you get more choice with the Themes and plugins but the dashboard and spam filtering is definitely not as good. I honestly probably couldn’t be bothered even if I could afford the web hosting. Each to their own but if I had a professional blog I would consider it certainly.

    • fotdmike says:

      Um… well, the dashboard is virtually the same as the .com one, apart from the stats. And you can get a plugin for that (a number of different ones to choose from in fact, that can give far more details than you get with the .com version)!
      As for the spam filtering, I believe .com uses Akismet. Again, you can get an Akismet plugin for the .org version so the filtering should be practically identical. But if its still not satisfactory there are a host of other plugins that you can add on. One of my personal faves is Bad Behaviour, which traps not just spam but all sorts of other nasties as well.

      You’re right though, .org lends itself much more readily to the professional user who may well have more requirements than can be met by the .com version.

  3. Pingback: Damned circumstances! | Adventures of an Idiot – occasional ramblings of a photography freak

Leave a Reply

