Twesting twesting twesting

Hmm. Right. So it seems that the good ol’ WordPress crew have introduced yet another new feature… displaying tweets in a post!

Hmm. Right. So I thought I’d give it a try to see how it all works.

What they say is…

To embed a tweet in your blog, all you need to do is visit the tweet on Twitter.com that you would like to use, copy the URL from the address bar, and paste it into your post.

Sounds easy, dunnit? But me, being a bit of a thicko, really can’t understand what they’re getting at. Doesn’t make sense as far as I can see (which isn’t really all that far actually, wot with one eye being a bit dicky… not an especially handy affliction for a photographer).

Or it didn’t until someone else apparently encountered the same hiccup…

How do I get the URL for a specific tweet? All I see in the address bar is the URL for the twitter profile, but not the specific tweet I want. When I right-click, I see no option to copy the link URL either.

Thing is though, they had the common sense to pose the question, in response to which some guy named Nick kindly clarified…

If you click on the time listed with a Tweet it will take you to that Tweet’s URL.

Ah yes, I see. Time to give it a try then…

Well damme… it works too! Just as it says on the tin… er… sort of. Whether or not I’ll ever have a use for the little feature is another matter entirely of course… but it is kind of neat.

Though I probably should have picked the tweet I’ve tested it with rather more carefully, given that the one I have used takes you to a page where you have to click another link to get to the actual content. Oh well, that’s the sort of mates I have I guess.

Let’s try one of mine then, that does take you direct to the content…

Hey, look at that… you can use it more than once in a single post! Dead easy too.

Now all I have to do is sus out how to use it in a worthwhile (i.e., “value added”) way.

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Messing Around, Not Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Twesting twesting twesting

  1. grungygran says:

    Good post ably demonstrating that you do know what your doing……most of the time anyway! 😉

Leave a Reply

