A bit of nonsense really

Hmm. Getting a bit fed up with all these colour pics I appear to have been doing recently. Time to be getting back to the good old black and white I’m thinking. And don’t anyone dare mention my original opinion of that particular… um… style? genre? I dunno. Summat like that.

A bloke can change his mind can’t he?

So, just to neatly round off this most recent spate of colour here’s a tasty little offering. A bit of nonsense really. A perfectly meaningless random shot. Actually it was a test shot just so I could check on some camera settings… but having revisited it a coupla times I find I do rather like it. Don’t know quite what I like about it, but it definitely has something going for it.

The Door _DSC0289

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Messing Around, Photography Chat and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A bit of nonsense really

  1. technogran says:

    Love this Mike! Where on earth do you find all these wonderful subjects to photograph! Must be an abundance down where you live. As for me, I like colour. The world we live in is full of it. You can’t take photos of life without the addition of colour. Well that’s my take on it anyways.

    • fotdmike says:

      Cheers technogran!
      🙂

      This one came about cos I was just playing around with camera settings. Spotted the light of the downward-bound sun reflecting off the panes in the front door and wondered how well I could capture it. Just a quick shot really but it seems to have turned out rather well.

      As for the black and white, yeah, I used to think almost exactly the same thing myself… before I became “hooked”. Now, most colour shots just seem so busy and uninspiring. Its almost as though they’re too complete; too full; too “finished”; leaving nothing to the imagination, and nothing for the viewer to do. A similar difference perhaps to listening to a play on the radio and watching one on tv.

      I dunno. I’m still trying to work out exactly what it is about b&w that so captivates me. But whatever it is, it doesn’t look to be relinquishing its hold any time soon. And it sort of lends itself to what I want to do… or “where I want to go” to borrow one of those ’orrible arty phrases… with my photography.

      That said, some things… like the above shot for example… just wouldn’t work the same in b&w. Horses for courses I guess. S’pose we should consider ourselves lucky to nowadays have the choice.

  2. Pingback: Delving into the murky depths of black and white | Adventures of an Idiot – occasional ramblings of a photography freak

  3. ellyukrm says:

    I’m finding that I’m exploring more and more with B&W – as you say, it seems to be about leaving something to the imagination; taking out the clutter perhaps and really focussing the attention on the subject (pardon the pun).

    • fotdmike says:

      Aha… another convert. Excellent!
      🙂

      I wonder if this is a sort of stage that every photographer goes through, or if always there will be those for whom b&w holds no appeal? And is it simply a particular “style” that we like to play with periodically, or does our appreciation of it have some more deep-rooted significance?

Leave a Reply

