Peanut butter

Peanut Butter P1070277

Most of the time I seem to find myself in either a state of amazement, or confusion. Sometimes the two are linked. Like, for example, when all too frequently I find myself amazed by all the things I don’t know. Which ignorance then so often gives birth to confusion because I simply… well… don’t know.

I’m also amazed by the totally trivial things that engage my attention… compelling me to confront the fact that there’s even more stuff, trivial stuff, that I don’t know. Why don’t I know these things? I don’t know. It’s all very confusing.

Here’s an example, and I’m wondering if any amongst my few, valued, and knowledgeable visitors knows the answer…

How many peanuts (in terms of actual number, and their equivalent weight… not including shells of course) go into the making of a 340g jar of smooth peanut butter? Or any size jar of peanut butter for that matter. This is something I really do want to know.

And there’s a prize for coming up with the right answer! Wow! Not that I’d know the right answer if it slapped me across the face with a wet fish, cos I don’t know. But the prize is… well, I’ll reveal why the lack of this totally stupid bit of useless information has begun to bug me. Heh heh.

Peanut Butter P1070284

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Not Photography, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Peanut butter

  1. ellyukrm says:

    540 peanuts apparently and the average weight of a peanut if 1 gram, so equivalent weight is 540g.

    The skins and kernels aren’t used in making peanut butter, but hydrogenated vegetable oil may be added at the end of the process. Most weight is probably lost during the roasting process I suspect.

    Yes, I really am that sad that I looked it up 🙂

    • fotdmike says:

      Excellent, and thanks for that 🙂

      So, according to my trusty old metric conversion calculator (cos I can’t be doing with all these new-fangled continental weights and measures… much prefer the good old English ones) that’s equivalent to 19.04 ounces, which is about 1lb 3ozs or just over. And that’s a lot of peanuts. All going into a single jar of peanut butter. Yippee!

      Now here’s your prize that I just know you’ve been so eagerly looking forward to; the reason I’ve been so obsessed with this…

      It’s all to do with teeth really. Or rather, the absence of teeth. Or, even more accurately, expanses of gum interrupted by the occasional stumps of teeth. My teeth… um… stumps.

      Y’see, I do so love peanuts. Always have done. And in the days of my youth I could quite happily chomp my way through a whole handful of them in a matter of seconds almost. Alas no more. Nowadays it usually takes me a good twenty minutes or more to gum just one to death! Wot with having precious few teeth stumps left an’ all.

      Well, that’s clearly no good. So I’ve taken to eating them in peanut butter form instead, a jar of which will generally last me about four or five days. Now I’ve never really thought much about it before but the other day, beginning to reach the end of the current jar, I suddenly started wondering just how many peanuts I’ve consumed when I polish off a jar of this butter stuff. And realised I didn’t know. Didn’t have the remotest clue in fact. Damned annoying, not knowing stuff like that when you really do want to know.

      But now I do. Thanks to you. And I’m well pleased. Cos that means I’m getting lots of peanuts every week. And peanuts, as we all know, are real good for you. Plenty of nutritional value, stuffed full of… stuff. So they have to be good for you.

      Unless you’re allergic to them of course. As some folk are. In which case they’re not very good for you at all. In fact, they’re positively bad for you.

      But I seem to be one of those lucky people who aren’t allergic to anything. Sure, I have a few dislikes. Intense dislikes in some cases. But that’s not really the same as allergies is it?

      Garlic for example. Can’t stand the bloody stuff. Just the smell of it makes me wanna be elsewhere. But it’s not really an allergy as such.

      Thing is, I suspect it’s my well-known absolute detestation of garlic that first started the Norfolk Oaf spreading nasty rumours about me being a vampire. Utterly ridiculous notion of course. I don’t even look like a vampire, or anything of that ilk.

      fotdmike

      And I’d be no good as a vampire anyway, wot with having no teeth fangs. Though I can still do a wicked suck!

  2. ellyukrm says:

    Peanut butter is great 🙂

    I ate pounds of the stuff when I was expecting No. 1 son; peanut butter and salad sandwiches … NOM!

    • fotdmike says:

      Hmm, peanut butter and salad sandwiches eh? Never tried that before but it sounds ace. And rabbit food salad stuff is something else I really like.

  3. Vic says:

    Well that’s an interesting question for a Sunday afternoon, I’ve just consulted Google and it seems that about 567 peanuts are needed for a 12 ounce jar.
    I can’t stand the stuff myself, according to the nutritional information it may contain traces of peanuts… and I can only manage those in salted form with lots of beer to take the taste away:-)

    • fotdmike says:

      Aha… roasted salted peanuts and a pint or three of ale, the perfect combination. Or it would be if I could chew the damned things in that form! Alas, long gone are the days of youth and sound teeth.
      😦

  4. harrythehandyman says:

    good site i’ll be back keep up the work , BTW peanut butter is a big no no

    • fotdmike says:

      Heh heh. Guess its one of those things that folk either love or hate. A bit like Marmite really. Hmm. Marmite…

      Wholewheat bread, lightly toasted on one side only, spread on t’other with Marmite and topped with Cheddar cheese. Yummee!

      Marmite! P1070392

      Marmite! P1070390

      Must be time for a quick snack.
      🙂

Leave a Reply

