Um. Yes. Well.

Sometimes I wonder if I’ll ever manage to do anything at all without screwing it up in some way. Some oversight or some stupidity on my part that negates all the effort and the good intentions.

You’d think I’d be used to it by now, wouldn’t you? After all these years; years that have witnessed an almost seamless succession of one cock-up after another. You could almost say I’ve developed and refined incompetency into an artform in its own right.

Looking on the bright side I guess you could say it’s quite an achievement to remain so steadfastly idiotic whilst still managing to discover ever new ways to mess up. And the most recent inspiring example of this amazing talent of mine can be witnessed in all its magnificence right here, on this very blog!

Y’see, for the past week or so (well, closer to ten days by now) I’ve been away. Went to bonny Scotland in fact, on one of my sort of photojourno type jaunts. No doubt I’ll have more to say about this in a subsequent post.

More to the point, given that I seem to have fallen into the habit of fairly regularly blogging, two or three times a week (sometimes more), I thought it’d be kind of a nice thing to do to let regular visitors know that I’d be absent for about a week or so.

Dead easy really. A quick blog post. Just before I’m due to depart. A few words along the lines of “Hey folks, I’m off for a few days so don’t expect any more posts for a bit.” What could be simpler?

But oh no, that’s not good enough for me. Far too straightforward and uncomplicated, with too little potential for messing it up.
Instead I have this brilliant idea of using that rather nifty scheduling feature; knock out a post the evening before and schedule it to be published at 10.30 the following morning… rather appropriately coinciding with the exact time I should be setting foot on board the coach for my journey north of the border. Neat huh?

And what could possibly go wrong? I’ve used the feature before (although not on this blog admittedly) and it works a treat. Dead easy.

Yeah. Right.

One little thing I overlooked was that this is me doing it. The other little thing I overlooked was to move the post out of draft mode! Oops.
Consequently, once I’d returned from my little trip (a week later be it noted) and paid a flying visit to the blog my very first thought was “So where the hell’s that post that should have appeared automatically a week ago?” And there it was, good as gold, still lurking as a draft. Bloody bloody hell!

So, a quick look over me shoulder to make sure no-one’s watching then hit the “Publish” button. And there it is, just as it should have appeared a week earlier. Neatly date stamped 18th August too… which is when it should have appeared. Though now its all lies of course. But p’raps no-one will notice. Heh heh.

And meanwhile, just to whet your appetite for what lies ahead, have a piccy from Scotland:

Climate Camp in Edinburgh, 2010 P1050747

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Out and About, Total Screw-Ups and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Um. Yes. Well.

  1. forkboy says:

    This story made me snort with laughter! The best laid plans and all that….

Leave a Reply

