Digital Art: The Skeptics and The Supporters (via New Britain Museum of American Art)

Oops!

Despite the risk of embroiling myself once again in that thorny old topic of whether or not photography qualifies as art (and folk that know me know exactly where I stand on that particular topic!), having just come across this on “Freshly Pressed” from the New Britain Museum of American Art blog I thought it was worth sharing.

Whilst I think digital art is definitely and without doubt an art form in its own right that doesn’t mean I conflate it with digital photography… cos I don’t! To my mind they’re two entirely different things.

Digital Art: The Skeptics and The Supporters

Digital Art: The Skeptics and The Supporters As we become a society increasingly engulfed in computer technology, there seem to be changes in the art world, specifically in regards to digitalization.  Since the 1970s, art produced digitally has risen into the fine arts realm.  For example, as opposed to manual photography which catches chemical changes on film … Read More

via New Britain Museum of American Art

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Reblogged, Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Digital Art: The Skeptics and The Supporters (via New Britain Museum of American Art)

  1. tam says:

    I agree, digital photography and digital art are two different things. Brad’s cousin is an amazing artist. He can “draw” things on/with the computer that I could never (well, that is unless I learned how). His art (and skill) and my photography could never be grouped together like that. However, I believe a good photograph can be a great work of art. But do I believe all photography is art? No.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

