All change… once again!

And this time not even a year’s gone by!

Well, it was like this see… those lovely folk at WordPress have just introduced yet another new theme. Called “Twenty Ten” and, would you believe, apparently its to be the new default theme for WP blogs (’bout time too!).

Unfortunately I’m always a bit of a sucker for checking out new themes. So I did. And know what? It has practically all the features I’ve actually been looking for in a theme.

Only criticism really is that its a bit… er… big. Compared to what I’ve been using. But no doubt its something I could get used to. Particularly with my somewhat less-than-perfect eyesight.

So, I’m gonna give it a trial run. Heh heh.

And I’ve not been completely happy with that theme I started using this year anyway.

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Messing Around, Not Photography, Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to All change… once again!

  1. Matt Thomas says:

    That’s a gorgeous header image, Mike! Try it out for a bit, I think the big text will grow on you. Check out this Information Architects article that inspired our choice.

    • fotdmike says:

      Hey Matt, thanks 🙂

      Interesting article, that. The “bigness” isn’t really a gripe, it was just a bit of a shock. Used to be in the printing/graphics trade so typography’s always something I’m particularly aware of and, I have to say, readability-wise it works amazingly well (relationship of font size to page width sorta thing).

      And overall this is a quite excellent theme… I can see me sticking with it for a fair old while.

  2. lensaddiction says:

    Otherwise how are you finding the theme – I have really struggled to find a nice 3 column theme that is not dull and boring and allows you to put a nice image in the top, and have all the widgets you want etc.

    i have recently changed my theme to Digg3 which is OK but not Fantastic *sigh*

    Good luck with the quest for the perfect theme 🙂

    • fotdmike says:

      Well, so far I’m really liking this. It has virtually all the features I’ve been looking for in a WP theme… apart from the typeface they use for headers, which I’m still trying to do something about.

      The much larger body typeface does take a bit of getting used to but, readability wise, its spot on. And it doesn’t take that long to get used to it.

      My only real criticism at the moment is that stupid “about the author” blurb that seems to attach itself to the bottom of every post when you click through to the actual post page. There doesn’t appear to be a way to deselect it yet it’s a bit silly having something like that for a sole author blog such as this.

      But that’s only really a minor moan.

      Of course, that’s one of the advantages of self-hosted WordPress.org blogs… there’s an almost infinite number of themes to choose from, and practically unlimited potential for real customisation.
      The downside being of course all the usual hassles of self-hosting.

      • technogran says:

        fotomike, try using Windows Live Writer to compose your posts if you use a PC. It’s a desktop blogging editor and works really well with WordPress. You can then choose any font for your header that you have installed on your comp AND also for the body of the post as well, so you can alter the size in there.
        You can also put any pics anywhere you like. It’s much better than any online editor. Read about it on my blog.
        http://technograns.wordpress.com and do a search for Live Writer.

  3. technogran says:

    Now now! Why not try it and see. At least you will then be able to alter the size of text, use any font installed on your machine etc. Take a look at my posts at http://technogran1.wordpress.com where I am using this same theme as you AND altering the size of text and fonts.
    That’s cos’ I use Writer to compose all my posts.

    • fotdmike says:

      Aha… just as I thought… Microsucks!!! Which no doubt means bloated code, massive overuse of system resources, umpteen thousand updates every other day (in a good month) and all the other things that seem to come as standard features with most Microsucks products.

      Plus, if I’m reading it correctly, you first need to have a “Windows Live ID”… the sort of thing that comes with Hotmail, Messenger etc. Er… no thanks.

      And, if I were to use it (and want to maintain a consistent interface between machines) I’d need to install it on every machine I use to blog with etc.

      Hmm… an’ all just to modify the font in the post headers and blog title? Pro’bly be easier for me just to buy a CSS upgrade.

      Thanks for the suggestion though 🙂

      • technogran says:

        You can use ANY email address as a Windows Live ID, it doesnt’ have to be a Hotmail or Live one. It’s free you can download just that by itself. Those who try it fall in love with it and wonder how they ever managed without it.
        Even Mac users envy us for having Live Writer. Anyway, just trying to help.

  4. Pingback: Islands in the sky | Adventures of an Idiot – occasional ramblings of a photography freak

  5. Pingback: Craftily tinkering with stuff | Adventures of an Idiot – occasional ramblings of a photography freak

Leave a Reply

