An absolute wealth of stuff

Rushden roundup… the Grand Finale

Rushden, Northants _G103433

Well, as they say, all good things must come to an end. So too, presumably, must all bad things. Though it never quite seems to work that way in my case.
Sure, the good things (few and far between though they are) come to an end… all too soon in fact. But the bad things? They just seem to go on, and on… and on. Or maybe its just me. Must have been a right nasty little sod in a former life to deserve such crap.
Come to think of it, I suspect I’m a right nasty little sod in this one too. Heh heh.

Rushden, Northants _G103671

Anyway, I’ve finally reached the conclusion of this series about the Rushden photojaunt. Mainly cos at last I’m reaching the end of the pics that fall into neat little sets.
But also, and more pressingly, because even now other photo projects are beginning to beckon and I really do need to clean out my hard drive of all these damn Rushden pics. To make space for… er… more pics. Of something else entirely.

Rushden, Northants _G103692

And there’s the not insignificant consideration that I’m beginning to get bored with this now… there’s only so much you can say about a given jaunt y’know.
Especially as the old brainbox is beginning to churn over ideas sparked off by other things entirely and, well, its a case of wanting to move on.

Rushden, Northants _G103493

However, throughout the course of this series I’ve periodically referred to odd pics being taken here and there whilst mate and I moved from one location to another.
A particularly interesting building, or a feature, or an angle, or a view that for some reason caught my eye.

Rushden, Northants _G103700

So this little batch is drawn from those “odd pics”. Random scenes and features that, when taken together, may convey some idea of what the town itself is like.

Its a small place. Not one of the most picturesque towns I’ve ever visited. And, at first glance, may not seem to offer much potential photo-wise.
But when looked at with fresh eyes, an open mind, and attention to detail rather than broad overviews, there’s an absolute wealth of stuff that, to me at least, seems worthy of pics.
Or perhaps it is just me. For I’m finding that more often than not there’s a picture lurking somewhere in even the most seemingly mundane of things. Just a question of “seeing” it in the right way… or maybe in a different way.

Rushden, Northants _G103716

Rushden, Northants _G103660

There we are then. That’s Rushden for you, a small town practically on the border of Northamptonshire and Bedfordshire.
Hope you’ve enjoyed this little series. In case you’ve missed any of the posts here they are again in chronological order… together with the corresponding Flickr set:

Honest guv!
On Flickr as The Eat’n’Enjoy Coffee Shop, Rushden

Our friend the Street Cleaner
On Flickr as Rushden, Northamptonshire

That’s the sort of thing mates do to each other
On Flickr as St Mary’s Church, Rushden

Sometimes I just hate my bloody uselessness
On Flickr as Rushden Hall and Park

We don’t do quickly
On Flickr as Rushden Station

Oh… and more pics of this little roundup are in the same set as the Street Cleaner ones!

🙂

Rushden, Northants _G103483

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Photography Chat and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An absolute wealth of stuff

  1. forkboy says:

    I always enjoy exploring new places that I will likely never see via your (and others) photostream. And the benefit of a blog posting tour is simply icing on the cake.

    • fotdmike says:

      Well, it keeps me occupied. Otherwise I might just end up doing something totally stupid with my time like… er… earning a decent living.
      🙂

  2. forkboy says:

    Well you wouldn’t want that, would you?

Leave a Reply

