That was a quick six months wasn’t it?

This, strictly speaking, is really a continuation of the last post in which (in the first part) I was rabbiting on about a particular effect I wanted to achieve and had sort of… er… failed. Rather dismally in fact.
And so I said I’d prob’ly spend the next six months or so mulling it over before I had another bash. Cos that tends to be my general approach to such things.

Well, that was a quick six months wasn’t it?

Cos here we are… this version, although still not quite there, is much much closer to the effect I was after…

Whereas this is how I’d normally process it…

More from The Bear P1030221

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Photography Chat, Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to That was a quick six months wasn’t it?

  1. ellyukrm says:

    Hhhm, I like the top one.

    May I venture to say that I think I like it more because the effect is nearly black and white , an almost hand tinted kind of effect; the hint of colour adds a certain something. The bottom one almost has too much going on in it to distract the eye, too many colours jostling for attention – my eye is drawn to the pump and the lights in the top one in particular.

    • fotdmike says:

      Yeah, I think that’s a pretty good take on it. Its definitely much closer to what I wanted to achieve. Didn’t like the previous batch I’d tinkered with cos they seemed to me to have far more than a hint of sepia about them, which is not what I was after at all.
      And I prefer the top one over the original too cos it seems much more “atmospheric”. Basically I knocked the saturation back a bit, increased vibrancy a huge amount (dunno what the equivalent to that would be in an editing app other than Lightroom), tinkered with the tones in both the shadows and highlights and changed the balance somewhat… um… bit more sharpening than usual, a touch of vignette, and that was it.

      Oh, and knocked the exposure down a stop or so.

      Still not quite there, but very much closer to what I wanted.

  2. forkboy says:

    So darker and desaturated, but not to the point of colourless. Is that the general gist of things?

  3. forkboy says:

    That’s why I said “general gist” as clearly if that was all there was you would have said so. Geez…

    😉

  4. forkboy says:

    Well it probably won’t happen again so enjoy it while you can buckaroo!

Leave a Reply

