A really strange sense of deja vu

Subtitled…
Once again into The Bear P1020949

Strange how compulsive this blogging nonsense can become. In an underhanded, sneaky, creeping up from behind and jumping out on you when you’re least expecting it sort of way.

There’s me, not having blogged anything for, oh, at least five or six days when it gradually dawns on me that I’m beginning to feel something. A vaguely uncomfortable sort of something. A vaguely sort of guilty type something. As though I haven’t done something I should have done.
A vaguely sort of guilty type something seeming to be reinforced by the awareness that its the beginning of a new month.

And then it clicks. I’ve not yet heralded the month in with… um… er… a post to the blog!

Dammit, this is just not good enough. In fact, its bloody disgusting!

Not that I haven’t posted anything but that I should actually be starting to feel guilty about not having posted anything. Ridiculous! Who the hell cares anyway? It really is about time I got meself a life I suspect.

So here we are then, the very first post of March 2010, and what have I to say for myself?
More specifically, what new photochat can I share with all? Given that this is supposed to be some sort of photoblog. Or at the very least, related to photography in some tenuous and distant fashion.

Well, ok, photography then…

Strange how compulsive this photography nonsense can become. In an underhanded, sneaky, creeping up from behind and jumping out on you when you’re least expecting it sort of way.

There’s me, not having taken any pics for, oh, at least… er, hang on a minute. Why I am now getting a really strange sense of deja vu?

Its true though. My clicky finger, like my fumbling with the keyboard finger, appears to have been somewhat idle of late. Come to think of it, I do believe its actually the same finger, but I’m sure that’s just coincidence. And I also suspect its not been totally idle… but best we don’t get into what other uses to which I may have been putting it.

However in my own defence I have to say that I’ve not been completely idle in photo-related matters.
In fact, I’ve actually been quite busy. And I fully intended to blog about this busyness… though I haven’t yet managed to drum up sufficient motivation to set it all down on paper. Er… virtual paper that is.
I haven’t even really managed to assemble my thoughts about the whole busyness into any sort of coherent order yet. Nothing particularly unusual there though.

All of which means that, hopefully, sometime within the next few something or others I shall be pleased to reveal some really new and exciting news… unique and exclusive to this ‘ere blog! Wow!

That’s why its called “news” incidentally. Cos its… er… new.

Except, by the time I get to write about it the newness will have worn off, and its not really all that exciting anyway.

But hey, it seemed like a good phrase to use.

And my first pics of the new month? Well, what a surprise. Back in my old haunt, The Bear pub. How totally unusual. Ahem.

Once again into The Bear P1020943

However, there is a bit of a twist on this most recent batch. Cos they’re taken with the Lumix… but in colour! Which is really strange cos the default setting for it has tended to be black and white. As some more observant types may have noticed.

I’ve done a few colour shots with it in the past and have been quite pleased with the result. And the other day, embarking on a little jaunt where I anticipated a few pics may have been required (and circumstances being such as to not permit me to take the larger camera) I hauled along the Lumix and changed the setting to colour for just in case. Cos I’m like that.

The actual pics never materialised but I forgot to reset the camera, so when I dragged it out of its bag today I decided on the spur of the moment to leave it as it was and fire away. Cos I’m like that as well.

And once again I find myself quite pleased with the way it renders colours. Have to say its proving to be quite a pleasing little camera all round. And real fun to use.
If only the damn files were of slightly better quality. And if only my antiquated version of Lightroom would read the RAW files it produces so I wouldn’t have to keep on shooting JPEGs. But then again, if only’s never achieved anything. Just get on and make the best of what you’ve got has always been my motto. Well, one of them at least.

Once again into The Bear P1020981

Once again into The Bear P1020987

Once again into The Bear P1020935

P.S. For the techie types, the foregoing pics were shot in Aperture Priority, all other camera settings at the default (i.e. auto) with “Quality” set to max for JPEGs except for: Sharpness at +2, Saturation at -1, and Noise Reduction at +2. In Lightroom (for most of them) I applied Autotone and the standard Punch preset, max noise reduction on the Luminance slider and that was about it. Oh, I think I had to knock the exposure down a third of a stop on a couple of them and similarly white balance had to be tweaked ever so slightly on a couple of them. But, aside from the over-the-top noise reduction those are the sort of adjustments I’d expect to apply anyway.
So, as the subtitle says…

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Photography Chat and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A really strange sense of deja vu

  1. forkboy says:

    And here I was thinking you had forgotten how to blog. Silly me.

    I’m just glad you didn’t tell us how you felt as if you had forgotten something for days on end only to discover you weren’t wearing pants. Yeah, I didn’t need to know that.

  2. ellyukrm says:

    Ahhh, a new blog post … all is well with the world 🙂

    • fotdmike says:

      Oh yay, oh yay, eight o’ clock and all’s well!

      [Clang clang, clang clang, clang oops… ouch]

      Hmm… never was much good at this town crier lark.

  3. imetam says:

    HOLD ON A MINUTE! Did forkboy just razz you and say he thought you had forgotten how to blog? He’s got a lot of nerve saying that….especially since he’s not even put anything on his photoblog since January 28, 2010! Sheesh. heh heh

    So, that clang… a wooden spoon on a pot lid? he he, sorry. And yes, I know, I am finally reading your posts. It’s been a long week…. month… few months…. 😉

  4. forkboy says:

    Yeah, well……. what can I say? O. Wilde hasn’t put out anything in some time, but folks still find him interesting!

    So there!

    Nuh!

  5. forkboy says:

    I don’t know if I’d call it “reasonable”, but I’m willing to think about it.

Leave a Reply

