Ever-obliging me

Ampthill Road, Kempston _G102549

Unusually for me there is actually a point to the apparently meaningless pic above.
Y’see, on our theme project blog one of our little gang posted a pic of a load of Crayola products… one of her contributions for this month’s theme of “Colourful“.

And it just so happens that in the town near where I live there used to be a Crayola factory. Mention of which stirred a little bit of interest.
So, ever-obliging me, I said I’d have a look-see to find out whether its still there.

So I did.

And it isn’t!

However, the building is still there… though sadly (but not unexpectedly) no longer occupied by Crayola. So in the true spirit of obligingness and at least some justification for hauling my arse all the way over there, I took that pic above of the building. Tried taking a few more but too many damn trees got in the way. Shoulda brought the axe along!

So its now the ex-Crayola factory.

On Ampthill Road, in Bedford.

Well, strictly speaking its actually in the adjoining Kempston bit of Ampthill Road. But no need to get too picky cos most folk hereabouts think of it as Bedford.

Ampthill Road, Bedford _G102576

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Photography Chat and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ever-obliging me

  1. Pingback: Bit of an eyesore really « Adventures of an Idiot – occasional ramblings of a photography freak

  2. ellyukrm says:

    I used to deliver packing tape to that Crayola place – very odd seeing thousands upon thousands of colourful crayons in one place.

  3. ellyukrm says:

    Early 2006 I think. I was delivering there in 2002/3 and it was a few years after that. They’d been in the town since the 60s.

  4. imetam says:

    darn! 😦

    Too bad. I was ready to pack up and move. Thanks Mike for the wonderful picture. It’s neat to see the building. Would LOVE to visit a Crayola factory somewhere. I am such a little kid! 🙂

Leave a Reply

