The Shackles of Winter

Chains P1020414

Yippee! Spring’s just around the corner!

I know it is cos certain repetitive events that I’ve become accustomed to experiencing whilst darkness still commands the sky are now, at last, being accompanied by a distinct lightening.

Longer days are afoot and finally I can think about the oppressive shackles of Winter being cast off.

It happens every year of course and shouldn’t come as any surprise… yet somehow it still does.

And each year my reaction is similar… an unexpected and surprising gleefulness, too often accompanied by a glint of Pan-like mischieviousness in my mind’s eye.

Apart from last year, which virtually from the start announced itself with feelings of deep foreboding… that, as the year unfolded, alas proved to be far too well-founded.
Curiously, whilst my head tells me that this coming year will be little different, perhaps even more dismal, my heart says something else entirely. How odd. And encouraging. Even exciting.

The truth is I suppose that I’ve never really grown up (whatever that may mean) and I can still too easily be filled by wonder and totally unwarranted expectations when witnessing seasonal changes that for far too many folk have become unremarkable.

And as if to bear out this childlike excitement, here’s a thing…

The pic accompanying this post (the one at the top, of the chains) was taken last night. Just messing around really. No ulterior motive other than that I thought it might be kinda neat.

Yet how aptly it fits the topic… a topic that didn’t occur to me until this afternoon when I noticed how much lighter the room was compared to exactly the same time only a few days ago.

And, hastily scribbling my thoughts down on paper before they vanished into the aether as so many meanderings of my mind tend to, I recollected the pic.

Ok, maybe they’re not precisely shackles, but chains are close enough. No need to get too picky. So was this just a happy coincidence, serendipity, or my subconscious busily beavering away behind the scenes?

Who knows, but this fortunate little twist fills me with a silly tingle of delight.

And just to round things off nicely, and remind me of what’s lurking around the corner, here’s a pic from last year

_G104083

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Photography Chat, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Shackles of Winter

  1. David says:

    I thought for a minute that you were going to say the picture of the daffs was takent his year, but then I realised that could not have been possible, if you had taken it this year it would alomost certinly have been in Black & White as has become your artistic bent!

  2. ellyukrm says:

    A funny thing today … I had very similar feelings of glee, elation and wonder driving between Bedford and Dunstable. Fantastic light and the tiniest hints of Spring just around the corner.

    The birds are starting to sing a different song in the garden, a pair of robins are examining last year’s nest site, the occasional shoot is poking tentaively through the earth … fanbloomintastic it is 🙂

    At the moment I only feel sadness for those that don’t take the time to see all this.

    • fotdmike says:

      Its great isn’t it? I’m just sort of bouncing around inside with a strange kid-like “waiting for something to happen” feeling. Totally senseless I know.

      And yeah, sorrow for those who don’t see this… or don’t allow themselves to.

  3. ellyukrm says:

    Heh! And there was me thinking my inner bouciness was all down to the Prozac 🙂

    Spring is sprung
    The grass is ris’
    I wonder where the birdies is?
    They say the bird is on the wing
    But that’s absurd because
    The wing is on the bird

    • fotdmike says:

      Nope, definitely not the Prozac… unless someone’s been secretly slipping the stuff into my coffee as well!

      All I gotta do now is start dreaming up some suitably madcap schemes to match my mood.

      🙂

  4. Our daffodils are just about that far along and I saw blossoms in Victoria (BC, Canada) on Friday. Your post matches my longing for spring.

    • fotdmike says:

      Wow! Already? Lucky you. I’ve seen no signs of them at all over here (UK)… yet. I’m definitely gonna start daff-hunting now though. Sight of them would just make it complete.

  5. forkboy says:

    No signs of spring here. Snow for tomorrow and Tuesday and a high in the teens (F) next weekend.

    But that suits me just fine. Spring will come eventually and that will be just fine.

  6. ellyukrm says:

    I’ve spotted my first snowdrop shoots poking through the undergrowth on a bank on the River Lea in Luton … made me smile.

    • fotdmike says:

      Dammit… I was out today along by the Embankment and then the Country Park. And I forgot to look for any daffs!
      On the other hand, none sort of jumped out and slapped me round the face so perhaps they’re not out yet.

      Shame, cos I do so like daffs.

      😦

      But snowdrops eh? Should have some of them in the back garden. Do have most years. Problem is though… getting into the back garden!
      But if I manage it I’ll be sure to post some pics 🙂

Leave a Reply

