I seem to be still rather hooked on this black & white caper at the mo’

Bedford and rain and effects _G100459

Following my little jaunt out in the rain last week I had a few pics that I hadn’t uploaded cos I’d earmarked them for some “special treatment”.

Ho hum.

In other words, I seem to be still rather hooked on this black & white caper at the mo’.
These (somewhat differently though) were taken with the GX10, shooting in RAW, and then doing the conversion to b&w and subsequently JPEG in Lightroom.

Um… after I’d finished messing around with them that is. Trying out different effects to see which ones seemed to work for the various scenes. Which is to say, which effects I preferred.

Results now uploaded to Flickr of course.

Bedford and rain and effects _G100456

Bedford and rain and effects _G100412

Bedford and rain and effects _G100404

Bedford and rain and effects _G100399

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Messing Around, Photography Chat and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I seem to be still rather hooked on this black & white caper at the mo’

  1. imetam says:

    i enjoy b&w photos. heck, i enjoy tinkering with my photos too.

    • fotdmike says:

      I think in my case its partly the fascination of seeing what can be achieved (and what different atmospheres can be created) with various effects, and partly being totally bored out of my skull with doing the same old stuff time after time.

      Were I able to travel a bit further afield and see different places more frequently than at present then that’d probably satisfy me but as it is I’m having to make do with what’s at hand so exploring different techniques and approaches seems to be the thing to do.

      😉

  2. forkboy says:

    I really like the one of the plaza, taken wide.

    There is a 1960’s quality to the image….if that makes any sense.

  3. fotdmike says:

    D’you mean that one third from the bottom? If so then that’s a bit of a coincidence cos, having looked at all these repeatedly since uploading them I still think there’s something about that particular one that’s really evocative. Just couldn’t pinpoint what exactly. But I strongly suspect its becoming one of my “faves of the month”.

  4. forkboy says:

    Yep, third from the bottom. I think there is a timeless quality to the image. I don’t see anything that helps date the image other than (maybe) the gent wearing the baseball cap, which doesn’t translate well into previous decades (like the 60’s and 70’s).

    The soft focus, the soft grey skies, the generally soft feel of the image…all conspires to feel comfortable. Like a favoured old sweatshirt or sweater (jumper to you).

    • fotdmike says:

      Yeah. I think there’s also something about the perspective of it that gives it a sort of… oh, I dunno… a “picture-like” quality (as in a painting, ‘cept its b&w of course).

      Or maybe not.

      But its definitely got something.

Leave a Reply

