P’raps I should just stop drinking coffee

Shadows and stuff P1010428

Hmm.

Seems I’m still messing around with this black and white stuff… only now some of them are getting to be a bit “off black and white” so to speak.

And I’ve discovered its a bit risky drinking coffee.

Cos drinking coffee entails making it, which entails going into the kitchen, which entails walking through another room.
Into which the sun happens to shine. Particularly early in the morning.

Which causes shadows. Which attract my eye. And damn… there’s me, rushing for the camera again. And another half-hour wasted. And still no coffee made.

P’raps I should just stop drinking coffee.

Shadows and stuff P1010414

Shadows and stuff P1010432

Shadows and stuff P1010425

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Messing Around, Photography Chat, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to P’raps I should just stop drinking coffee

  1. Maggie says:

    I really like the second to last picture. The shapes are all very strong and definite and the black effect against the white makes them even more apparent. How are you able to achieve the off white effects?

    • fotdmike says:

      Hi Maggie. To be honest I’m not entirely sure how I got to that “off white” effect.
      I was using this new camera that has a load of filters and stuff built in and, shooting in JPEG I was able to use the b&w filter.
      Then I imported the entire batch of b&w JPEGs into Lightroom and messed around with them individually (contrast, tone curve etc, plus applying various presets) until I got the effect for each one that I quite liked.

      P’raps I should have kept a note of each change as I made it but I’m just not that methodical
      😉

  2. David says:

    Nah, dont you dare stop drinkign coffee, you will end up being locked up within days if you do! coz you will go mad!!
    Take it from someone who knows! whos that then? me? oh yes you, no not likelly, erm, whos that? stop talking to me like that.. hic hic.

  3. David says:

    OH I forgot to say, I like these photos, they look really arty pieces 🙂

  4. Maggie says:

    I agree. There is no need to stop drinking coffee

  5. fotdmike says:

    Oh, all right then. You’ve both persuaded me not to give up on the coffee just yet.

    😉

  6. forkboy says:

    Maybe you accidentally purchased art-house coffee?

  7. fotdmike says:

    Arrrghhhh… I’ve been drugged!

    That explains so much.

  8. forkboy says:

    Or should be drugged. That would help quite a bit.

    😉

  9. Pingback: An underlying irregularity | Adventures of an Idiot – occasional ramblings of a photography freak

Leave a Reply

