“Colourless”, one might say

Still messing around with black & white P1010388

Oh dear. Oh dear oh dear oh dear.

Seems that whilst I was out on my little jaunt with the FZ38 and experimenting with the “Scene Mode” (this post refers) my finger must have accidentally slipped and I inadvertently accessed the Menu.

And then inadvertently scrolled to the fourth menu page.

And then inadvertently selected the “Color Effect” option.

And then inadvertently selected “B/W”.

And then my finger must have slipped again cos it seems that somehow I inadvertently knocked the mode dial around about eight notches to the “Aperture Priority” mode.

All of which meant that I suddenly discovered I was shooting in black & white again.

Ho hum. So just look on it as messing around.

And to vehemently put down those really nasty rumours that have begun circulating about me, and all other similar slanderous accusations and aspersions… no, b&w isn’t arty! Not as far as I’m concerned. Its just bog-standard pics but without the colour. “Colourless”, one might say. Possibly inferior even. Certainly “less”… as in missing something… i.e. colour!

Is it my fault that for some totally unfathomable reason it seems there’s something about b&w I actually quite like?
Dunno what though. Probably its simplicity. Simple’s good far as I’m concerned. Been getting totally fed up with all that technical stuff like trying to get the colour right and suchlike. Far too much of a headache.

So, seems like this black & white nonsense is a bit easy.

Consequently, you may well find I’m going to be spending a fair bit of time trying to sus out what works and what doesn’t in the format.

All just messing around of course.

And let’s face it… its one of the uses I actually had in mind for this new camera!

Still messing around with black & white P1010392

Still messing around with black & white P1010385

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Messing Around, Photography Chat and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to “Colourless”, one might say

  1. imetam says:

    you know, arty is not bad….and I am thinking you’ve been bitten by the art bug. 😛

    well done! I like them.

  2. mywayoutnow says:

    I think its only a matter of time before we see a ‘Langridge’ or 3 being touted in the art world as ‘B&W Art Photography fever bites him.
    Maybe even see the ‘estemed artist’ going for the Turner Prize or some similar such art prize.

    • fotdmike says:

      I think its only a matter of time before we see a headline in the Times & Citizen: “Local photographer goes on maniacal spree as people accuse him of being arty”.

      Hmm. That’s probably a bit long for a newspaper headline. Damn. I’ll just have to think of something else.

      😉

  3. David says:

    Go on Mike, before we know it, you will be sipping wine and wearing a neckerchief as you stand around the art galleries discussing the artistic merits of your choice of using B&W over the use of colour.

    • fotdmike says:

      D’you know, you’ve managed to almost exactly encapsulate in just one sentence one of the principal reasons I have no time for the “photography is Art” crowd. Bunch of poseurs the lot of them.

      Well done.

      😉

  4. forkboy says:

    So we’re supposed to call you ‘poseur’ now?

  5. fotdmike says:

    You can call me whatever you like… its not as though I take any notice.

    😆

  6. forkboy says:

    Right…..and that is why you do not bother to so vigorously deny any and all accusations of ‘artsy’ you artist.

    No. You poseur.

    😉

Leave a Reply

