They must have thought we were off our heads

Bedford in the rain _G100458

At last! At long, long last!

Mate and I, in town, together, at the same time.

Both with cameras to hand.

And time to spare.

During daylight hours.

And it rained!

Boy did it rain. Not for very long, but certainly long enough for our purposes.
It’d be no exaggeration to say that I’ve been yearning for the opportunity to take some “rain in town” shots. In fact, we both have.
But somehow all the right elements never quite seemed to come together. So we’ve been waiting. And waiting. And waiting. For what seems like years now.

“Proper” rain it was too. Not like the stupid occasional showers we’ve had to make do with up until now.

So chortling with glee, and madly dashing (well, more like slothfully ambling actually) from one little bit of shelter to the next, off we set.
Great it was. Made even better by the rather strange glances we were receiving from shoppers trying desperately to avoid the weather, and not understanding in the slighest why we appeared to be so overjoyed.

They must have thought we were off our heads.

Yeah. Well. Um.

Bedford in the rain _G100403

Bedford in the rain _G100430

Bedford in the rain _G100441

Bedford in the rain _G100452

Anyway, taking a break to grab a coffee and a bite to eat, when we returned to the wonderful soggy outdoors we discovered the rain had ceased and, lo and behold, sun and blue sky!
The light seemed wonderful so of course we had to grab a few more shots…

Bedford after the rain _G100484

Bedford after the rain _G100469

Bedford after the rain _G100472

… then decided to go for a bit of a walkabout.

Greyfriars, Bedford _G100503

Union Street, Bedford _G100516

Clapham Road, Bedford _G100532

And dammit I just couldn’t resist firing off a coupla b&w shots. I’m really going to have to stop this!

Union Street, Bedford P1010364

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Photography Chat and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to They must have thought we were off our heads

  1. imetam says:

    FANTASTIC!! I love the rain. I love to walk, run, play and take pics in the rain. Well done!

  2. mywayoutnow says:

    I love the rain shots, fantastic set of photos but you ought to be careful of that B&W thingy you have going, before you know it you will be considering it all art!

    • fotdmike says:

      Must confess I’m rather pleased with them myself 😉

      But shooting in b&w and starting to consider it as art? Even the hint that I may be tempted to do that is almost enough to stop me straight away!
      😉

  3. Pingback: Full of sympathy and compassion « Adventures of an Idiot – occasional ramblings of a photography freak

  4. keithwill says:

    My first blog ,just looking around and came across your pic’s you have made my day , just fantastic loved the rain.

    • fotdmike says:

      Hi Keith! Thanks for that. Pleased you enjoyed.

      I see you’ve just set yours up. Let me know when you’ve posted some stuff and I’ll come visit.

      🙂

  5. forkboy says:

    A few things…

    Love the pic of the hunched and elderly ladies. It has ‘feeling’. Maybe it should be in b&w? Very artsy then.

    In addition, I cannot help but think how nice that particular image would look if done in an Impressionist style with editing software. A modern take of the world, but done in an older style.

    For some time now I have enjoyed viewing your images of in and around Bedford. Bedford and the surrounding communities are quite different than any place in which I have lived. Everything is smaller, more tightly knit and walking friendly. America and American cities are not famous for this quality and it’s a quality I wish our towns and cities exhibited.

    I keep trying to imagine snapping images like these…simple images of shops and folks scurrying about doing their things…but I can’t. Where I live doesn’t afford such urban vistas. I guess I love the images for how they are so different from my every day experiences and for what I wish I lived within.

    • fotdmike says:

      “hunched and elderly ladies” Yeah, I was quite taken with it too. Darren did actually do a b&w version… its on his Flickr stream now.

      As regards Impressionist style, well, if you like I’ll send you a full size hires version and you can play about with it if you want?

      “I guess I love the images for how they are so different from my every day experiences” This truly is the main reason I enjoy photography (or maybe photo sharing?) so much. Nothing to do with messages or art or whatever. Simply that I love the ability to see things and places and people, and even other peoples’ unique ways of seeing things etc, that I wouldn’t otherwise see.

      And of course the corollary of that is my sharing of my pics, in the hope that someone somewhere may get some pleasure/enjoyment from them.

Leave a Reply

