Unexpected visitors

Well, it was like this see. There was I quietly getting meself ready to go out, wandering back and forth to the kitchen and various other places when what’s this I espy on the lounge carpet?

A bloody great lump of black paper stuck upright!

_G109822

“How strange” thinks I. So, curious, I bend to pick it up when lo and behold, it flutters its wings. Dammit, a butterfly!
And it wasn’t black at all… just looked it in the dimmish light and in the shadow of the settee.

Grab camera quickly then and fire off a few shots. Sans tripod of course, and had to switch to manual focus. And lighting was a bitch. So not brilliant shots but something nevertheless.

_G109826

Then of course I gently coax it onto my hand and carry the little creature outside to the garden where I’m sure it’d feel much more at home.

Wander back inside then and bugger me… another unexpected visitor! And not a million miles from where butterfly was.

_G109827

Hmm.

Don’t think it was a grasshopper. Bit too big for that and not really green enough. Cricket maybe? Dunno.

Anyway, retrieve camera for another portrait shot and then, ho hum…
gently coax it onto my hand and carry the little creature outside to the garden where I’m sure it’d feel much more at home.

I think I’m getting to be quite good at this.

Must say though, I was quite charmed by my two unexpected visitors. Sort of makes me feel wanted.

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Photography Chat, Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Unexpected visitors

  1. Pingback: I’m sure he did it just to annoy me « Adventures of an Idiot – occasional ramblings of a photography freak

  2. forkboy says:

    Mighty kind of you…I go through the same thing with the occasional spider that comes indoors.

    • fotdmike says:

      Hmm. Spiders now, I’m a bit iffy about them. Always strikes me there’s something distinctly alien about them.
      The amount I get tromping around in doors though, well, I’ve sort of adopted an approach of “you leave me alone and I’ll leave you alone”… generally.

  3. imetam says:

    I think they came to see you together. What a great little short story that’d be….the cricket and the butterfly. 🙂

Leave a Reply

