And now for something completely different

Seriously messing around _G107110

Just occasionally (not very often it has to be admitted, cos generally I much prefer my pics to be “straight out of the box”) I’ll indulge a sudden urge to “have a play”.
Possibly its some sort of secret and unconscious hankering after my former career that periodically bubbles to the surface.
Dunno. Don’t much care really either. Not too interested in analyses and explanations, specially if they don’t make a damn bit of difference.

Most of these little messings around never actually see the light of day.
Have a play; satisfy the urge; all turns out to be a dismal failure; trash the lot.

But sometimes, just sometimes, I end up with something that I find quite pleasing. Satisfying sort of.

So it was this evening.

Despite its being a glorious day, didn’t manage to do much at all really. On account of having had a fairly sleepless night. But not for the want of trying! To get to sleep that is. Lay there drumming my fingers on the mattress (figuratively speaking) thinking “Hmm… I’ll be asleep in a minute”. Hour later, still drumming, still thinking “Hmm… not long now”. Looked at the ceiling. Looked at the walls. Bit more drumming. Bit more thinking. ‘nother look at the ceiling. And the walls. Yep. Still there.  And so it went. For ages. Um… Monday night that woulda been (I tend to lose track a bit, largely cos I keep some really strange hours!)

Consequently, though I kept telling myself today that I really should get out and enjoy the weather it just didn’t happen. One point even found me falling asleep over the keyboard. How sad is that?

Come evening though and I’m perking up a bit.

Dammit! A whole day’s opportunity to get the camera out and have some fun’s passed me by completely. (Though I did have a little session earlier, shooting some smoking kit. See last post.)

But then something in the old homestead catches my eye and… well… almost before I know it there I am, shooting away.

Results weren’t terribly inspiring though.

“Well, that was a wasted hour or so” thinks I. Have a bit of a grump, and more than a hint of a sulk. Not a lot of fun in either though when you live on your todd. So I soon get bored with that game. (Come to think of it that’s probably an advantage. Pre-empts the development of all that self-pity type crap!)

A few cups of coffee (have even run out of the amber nectar dammit!) then up pops the jolly old “I wonder if” urge.

And, I have to say, I’m rather pleased with the results. So much so in fact that I think they’re just about worth sharing. Maybe. And if you’re into completely meaningless pics that serve no purpose other than being a pure self-indulgence. And a bit of fun of course. Heh heh.

Seriously messing around _G107105

Seriously messing around _G107111

And there’s a few more on my Flickr!

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Photography Chat and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to And now for something completely different

  1. Tam says:

    nothing wrong with self indulgence! I found myself studying the photos, looking at all the detail. They are very good. I enjoyed looking at them.

  2. forkboy says:

    Agreed. Something very much outside of your typical fare. Nothing like stretching the mental muscles, eh?

  3. fotdmike says:

    Yeah, there was something curiously satisfying about it but I suspect I’d get a bit bored if I did too much of that sort of thing.

Leave a Reply

