Smokers Club!

This particular little photo session was suggested by a chance comment on another pic entirely in my Flickr photostream.

Here we go then:

Mandatory piece of pocket luggage when camping, out in the countryside, or even just wandering around town. The portable ashtray! An empty matchbox can serve the same purpose. Intention of course being to not litter the environment with dead fag butts…

_G107024

_G107086

How many Zippos do I have? Not sure I remember buying any of these! Makes up for all the ones I’ve lost over the years I suppose…

_G107030

_G107051

Although generally preferring my nicotine in the form of roll-ups its not entirely unknown for me to take a break for a few months and smoke a pipe instead. These ‘ere are my faves…

_G107042

_G107082

_G107075

Not too sure what its called but its a thingie for decoking pipes when they’ve become a bit clogged with carbon! (Seem to recollect it may be called a “hedgehog”… but surely I’m dreaming that?)

_G107049

And for those very special occasions there’s the cigar cutter of course. Wouldn’t want to get my finger accidentally caught in this. Its pretty much a miniature guillotine…

_G107074

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Photography Chat, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Smokers Club!

  1. forkboy says:

    Regardless of my being a non-smoker, this is an excellent collection of photographs. And a nice bit of insight into the world of fotdmike.

    My father smoked a pipe for two or so decades. Always this pale blue smoke hanging about the house…

  2. fotdmike says:

    Its the smell I love. Pipes, after a bit of use, develop a quite distinctive smell, and its that which really gets to me.
    And though different pipe tobaccos each have their own unique aroma, nevertheless as a “class” of tobacco smoke its completely different to that of conventional cigarettes, roll-ups, or cigars. And again, I love the smell of pipe smoke.

Leave a Reply

