Nearly impressed

_G106967

Rarely do I impress myself. And today was no exception.

But I’ve come pretty close to making it one with my contribution to that theme project thingie.

The theme for this month (August ’09) was set by some awkward bugger blogger who pretends to be a mate of mine (yeah, right) and my initial reaction was “Hell, this is gonna be a real head-scratcher”. What’d he decided on? “Through the eyes of a stranger”, that’s what. Toerag!

Unlike most of the themes that have been set so far nothing sprang to mind fairly quickly. In fact, not putting too fine a point on it, I was completely stumped.

So resort to my favourite tactic when all else fails, and forget all about it… just trust that rather suspect and, frankly, quite unfathomable beast that masquerades as my subconscious to throw up an idea or two in its own good time.
Its a favourite tactic cos so far (and I’m talking here about my entire life wouldya believe) its never failed me. Mind you, there’s always a first time I s’pose.

But sure enough, having ruminated unto itself for a while, it delivers the goodies!

There am I, laboriously and somewhat reluctantly dragging myself from the depths of slumber on Monday last when “Wham!”. An idea for the theme springs unbidden into my thoughts. Along with a lot of other stuff that we don’t really need to go into here. Suffice to say it was all a bit dodgy, as befitting a guy with my somewhat dubious interests!

Only problem was, I didn’t think I’d actually be able to get the shot I wanted. Oh pooh. Neat idea. Shame that neither my kit or me is up to it. So common sense told me I’d best wait for something else to suggest itself.

But then again, suspecting I won’t be able to do something has never stopped me before, so why should I let it now? Hell, if I’d followed the voice of reason, caution and common sense throughout my life I’d probably be… er… well, prob’ly not doing this crazy photography stuff for a start. So stupidity prevailed.

And today I cracked it. Got exactly the shot I wanted, and it turned out to be surprisingly easy.

As I said, I’ve nearly impressed myself.

And no small thanks to my “model” Karen, who’s remarkable eyes she managed to prevent from blinking for the entire little session.

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Photography Chat and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Nearly impressed

  1. forkboy says:

    You know what is truly disturbing about this entire entry? The reflection of the flat in the center of her eye.

    It looks almost exactly like the one I had in Chicago.

  2. Tam says:

    the photo is fantastic. The color and reflection are superb!

  3. fotdmike says:

    Thanks Tam.

    The thing that really concerned me was being able to get a sufficiently detailed or sharp reflection of the building in the eye. I just didn’t think I’d achieve it. I think there’s still room for it to have been slightly sharper but overall I’m well satisfied.
    Curiously I hadn’t really paid a great deal of attention to the eye itself, which is a pity cos now I’m beginning to think I could have grabbed some additional shots of it in its own right.
    One odd thing I discovered though was that for this type of shot you’ve gotta have the right sort of eye! Dunno what the “right sort” is exactly, but I tried it first with another model and it just didn’t work at all. Maybe something to do with the reflective quality? Dunno.

  4. The Juicer says:

    Mike, that reflection is just awesome!
    And your text- so entertaining:) Aint we glad you went ahead and took the plunge!

    Not to take away from the beautiful shot you took, but I am wondering, what if the shot was slightly underexposed? It’s just that the right edge of the pic is beautifully blurred and might look even better if slightly darker. But I wouldn’t want the reflection to get affected at all. What are your thoughts?

  5. fotdmike says:

    Hmm… yeah, I can see what you mean… on this monitor at least. I can certainly mess around with that a bit in Lightroom and see what it looks like… but then it’d probably look too underexposed on the monitor I normally do the processing on.
    This whole business of how pics look on different monitors has been a real thorn in my side for ages now, and something about which I’ve moaned several times in the past… at some considerable length!

    Still, always worth having a play 😉

Leave a Reply

