A real cheapie affair

Minolta X300 test shot CNV00005

Who remembers this little beauty?

Well, those who do may also recollect that I had three accompanying lenses foisted off on me by that nasty vindictive “mate” of mine. Nordic oaf!

So I went out and about with the 50mm lens and did a few test shots. Discovered that at least the camera/lens works, even if I haven’t yet sussed out how to use the damn thing.

However, in fairness the results were sufficiently encouraging for me to want to persevere… for a little while at least.

Bunged on the next lens to be tested (a rather iffy-looking Vivitar 28mm f/2.8 regarding which something tells me its a real cheapie affair) and over the past few weeks, when I’ve remembered, I’ve fired off a few shots here and there.

Still hellishly grainy and over-sharp (to my eye at least) but generally reasonably acceptable for the sort of purposes I have in mind for this heap of… well, let’s not be too unkind.
Or perhaps I’ve just been spoiled by digital cameras.

Hmm.

If I carry on like this I can see me wanting to scan my own negs into the infernal machine next. And after that? Well, fairly obvious really. Have to start trying to remember all those tricks I learned when I used to do darkroom work. Ho hum.

Anyway, here’s a few samples. The rest (naturally) in their own set on Flickr.

Minolta X300 test shot CNV00010

Minolta X300 test shot CNV00016

Minolta X300 test shot CNV00029

Minolta X300 test shot CNV00014

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Photography Chat and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A real cheapie affair

  1. forkboy says:

    Camcorders…..film cameras….what have you done with the REAL fotdmike?!

  2. fotdmike says:

    Yeah… but note I’m pretty negative about all of them. And you can tell its truly me cos the glint of total incompetence still manages to shine through somehow.
    😉

  3. forkboy says:

    I don’t know…..incompetence can be faked, but at the level you’re providing….that may be too difficult to replicate.

    😉

  4. Pingback: Oh dear! « Adventures of an Idiot – occasional ramblings of a photography freak

Leave a Reply

