I’ve said it before and no doubt I’ll say it again

Cotton End, Bedfordshire - street features _G201397

Spotted some new road markings and stuff in my village last week so thought that at the first available opportunity I’d grab meself some pics.

Well, that opportunity was yesterday. At some stupidly early hour in the morning in fact. I think I actually left the house for my pic sortie about half-six.
I’ve said it before and no doubt I’ll say it again… I must be off my head.

Cotton End, Bedfordshire - street features _G201373

Anyway, mission accomplished and the new road features conscientiously documented, ambling back homeward I came across something else new. Or at least, I think it is. Certainly I can’t recollect having seen it there before…

A new public footpath giving access to Shocott Spring (part of the Marston Vale Forest project).

Shocott Spring, Marston Vale _G201401

Shocott Spring, Marston Vale _G201402

Well, it just had to be done, didn’t it?

So off I trek up this pathway, snapping my way along. The beautifully bright early morning light yet with the Sun still fairly low in the sky seemed to bestow a gorgeously rich colour to things, with some amazing shadows.
Doubt I could have got more vibrant colours even if I’d had a polarising filter attached.

Shocott Spring, Marston Vale _G201411

Shocott Spring, Marston Vale _G201404

Shocott Spring, Marston Vale _G201434

Shocott Spring, Marston Vale _G201438

Didn’t venture into the Wood itself (not that its grown into much of a Wood yet) as by that time I was getting rather chilly (still quite fresh out although the coming warmth of the Sun was slowly making itself felt) and I was increasingly in need of a coffee or several (really must try to kick this caffeine addiction one day. Aside from anything else its getting bloody expensive!).

Shocott Spring, Marston Vale _G201422

But on the way back naturally I had to bag one or two more shots.

Cotton End, Bedfordshire _G201449

Cotton End, Bedfordshire _G201445

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Photography Chat and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’ve said it before and no doubt I’ll say it again

  1. Tam says:

    there are a few places in my neighborhood that I need/want to shoot. I’ve been meaning to get down there, but for some odd reason, I can’t find the time. So…I am going to make time. 🙂 Look for them soon.

    I really want to take some time and document all the business closings I see.

    Great photos!

  2. fotdmike says:

    I think businesses closing (and other effects of the economic “problems”) is a good project… with historical/documentary implications too.
    There’s a few of us working on something similar (in our own localities) over here.

    😉

  3. forkboy says:

    While I love the dew-on-grass shot (the very tiniest of droplets are quite cute, if such a thing is possible), it is the single fence post image I like best.

    There is something about the quality of light in the image that really grabs me by the lens…if you catch my meaning.

  4. fotdmike says:

    Yeah, I know exactly what you mean. Had the same effect on me.

Leave a Reply

