Patterns of sunlight

Patterns of sunlight _G201258

To say my abode is full of shadows is perhaps something of an understatement.
Seems to happen wherever I choose to take up residence.
No matter how bright and airy a place may be at the start, not long after I’ve settled in it acquires a distinctly shadowy nature.

Maybe its a reflection of the contradiction, or perhaps ambivalence, of my own character.
For despite revelling in the sunshine I also seem to possess an incredible affinity for the dark.

Or maybe its an indication that, courtesy of my Druidic leanings, I seem to spend a lot of time “consorting with the shades”.

Whatever the reason may be, one effect is that whenever the Sun’s in the right direction I enjoy some really inspiring “dappled sunlight” effects indoors.
Which arrest me in whatever I may be doing and hold me entranced for moments at a time, the shapes of the shadows (and reflections) briefly transporting me to other times, other places.

And just occasionally (since having taken up photography) I’m tempted to try to capture these moments in pictures. Not always with a great deal of success it has to be added.
However, here are a couple of such moments, caught yesterday.

Patterns of sunlight _G201264

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Photography Chat, Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Patterns of sunlight

  1. Tam says:

    i really enjoy the sunlight shining through my windows in the morning. You’ve captured the sunlight and its patterns nicely. 🙂

  2. forkboy says:

    This isn’t, of course, the first time you have illuminated us with photos from the inner sanctum. But there is a consistent thread in your penchant for either the seclusion of shadows or the flickering brilliance of specks of light.

    In either instance it’s nice to be allowed inside…

Leave a Reply

