2009 is a year that sucks!

Dunno whether anyone else has noticed it or even whether its affecting anyone else the same way but I’m rapidly coming to the conclusion that 2009, even this early in the year, is a year that sucks!

Aside from the obvious (the economic downturn blah blah blah) virtually everything else has either gone pear-shaped or is in the process of so doing.

I have to confess I’m getting a wee bit pee’d off with it. Is it really only March?

And on top of everything else I don’t seem to have managed to sustain my customary production of pics either. Not for the absence of desire or loss of interest I’d hasten to add. Just that I don’t seem to have had as much time available as normal… and when I do get a bit of spare time bugger me if something completely out of the blue doesn’t happen to encroach upon it.

However…

On my way home from shopping today, having stepped off the bus and wrestling with getting the backpack on etc I glance across the fields and spot this rather pleasant sunset. Admittedly not as glorious as some past ones have been but nevertheless quite inspiring in its own softly stated way.

The sun dipping toward the horizon, not totally obscured by streaks of cloud, starting to silhouette a naked tree and beginning to cast a solitary ray upward to the heavens.

“Hmm” thinks I, “wonder if that’d come out in a pic”. No sooner had the thought occurred than I’m across the road, shrugging off the backpack and rummaging for the camera.

Within a few moments the effect had passed but in that time I’d managed to fire off a good dozen or so shots each with a slightly different setting or composition.
And here, for your delectation, is the one I finally decided (having got back home and inspected the results in Lightroom) was worth keeping. With the added, and totally unintentional, bonus of a few birds in flight…

_G104109

Its little things like this that I find are tending to alleviate the general suckiness of the year.

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Photography Chat and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 2009 is a year that sucks!

  1. forkboy says:

    I would say something helpful like, “It will get better,” but truth-be-told, I’m in complete accord. 2009 blows huge chunks.

    But that’s a keen shot. Maybe it will help turn things around a bit.

  2. fotdmike says:

    You too huh? Well, at least its some comfort to know I’m not the only one. Particularly if the other one happens to be you. In fact, I think that’s making me feel a whole lot better already.

    😉

  3. tam says:

    I agree, 2009 has started out a bit rough. I am hoping it gets better. I am staying positive.

    The sunset photo is amazing. I love it.

  4. forkboy says:

    Odd…..I would have thought that Darren being down about the year would have provided you with even more of a mood lift?!

Leave a Reply

