Weather update

Its Thursday and its six in the morning (probably closer to half-past by the time I finish this), its dark outside, and its snowing. Again!

Not those really big plump juicy flakes, but fine almost powdery type stuff. Nevertheless its settling, and it looks as though its been snowing for some time. Temperature’s hovering around 34°F with an easterly wind of about 10mph.

After I’d returned home Tuesday and processed all the pics I’d half-promised myself that, were we to get another snowfall it might be quite fun to get out into the fields early(ish) in the morning and do a few landscape-type shots of, well, basically sheets of whiteness. Just to start rounding the week and the series off as it were.

So now here I am, actually confronted with the reality of that situation, and asking myself whether I can really be bothered. Even given the additional incentive of experimenting with using an umbrella… an idea about which I’ve just been reminded by forkboy in a comment thread on another post.

Do I really want to leave the warm snugness of my computer room where I sit fag in hand, steaming brew before me, comfortably tapping away at the old keyboard? Divest myself of dressing gown and struggle into outdoor wear, prep the camera kit, hunt for the umbrella, and then trudge a mile or so out to the fields? Where it’ll all prove bitterly disappointing photo-wise, I’ll get freezing cold, and probably fall flat on my arse a few times as well? Then rush back home and grab some sleep so I’m refreshed for the night-shift tonight?

Am I really that dedicated? (Or mad?)

Oh, decision decisions!

So for the time being I’ll just sit here idly filling in time by writing a completely pointless post until it gets light enough for me to have to decide.

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Photography Chat and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Weather update

  1. forkboy says:

    No new snow here, but the idea did cross my mind to go out and take some early a.m. photos this morning.

    I turned on the telly to see what the weather was like…….0F (or, for you Celsius type folks, -18C).

    I then suddenly remembered that I had unprocessed and un-uploaded pictures from this weekend past. Saints be praised I didn’t have to go outside. And I love the cold, but 0F?

  2. fotdmike says:

    Well, dunno about anyone else over this way but I’m not a Celsius type bloke. Fahrenheit for me… always has been, always will be. Can’t be doing with any of these new-fangled ideas.
    Still think in inches, feet, and yards too. They can chuck metric right back to where it came from far as I’m concerned.

    Anyway, yeah, that sounds damn cold. Wouldn’t catch me going out when its that low!

  3. tam says:

    We have NO snow and it was oh…around 45 F today. If we had snow, I probably would have gone out, no, I would have definitely gone out. Snow is scarce as hen’s teeth around here. HA!

  4. fotdmike says:

    Well Tam, you’re gonna get real envious then cos its snowing again right now, even as I type, and its about 32°F.
    And I’ve still got a batch of pics to upload from Thursday morning… when I can finally get them processed to my satisfaction 😦

  5. Pingback: All claim to sanity forsaken « Adventures of an Idiot - occasional ramblings of a photography freak

Leave a Reply

