New year, new look

Start of a new year (well, just into the start of a new year actually) so thought I’d treat myself to a new look for the blog.

Not that there was anything wrong with the old one. I quite liked it in fact. But here I am, stuck indoors and a bit bored. Bored cos I’ve just finished doing a sort of revamp of another of my websites (including updating to the latest WordPress version on one of my self-hosted blogs… went without a hitch despite huge misgivings on my part caused by the fact that I haven’t done a version update for ages), and everything went a lot quicker and smoother than I thought it would.

Problem was though, it gave me an appetite for messing around with code and stuff once again… and I’d left myself with nothing to do!

Hmm… time to turn my attention to this blog then (which seems to have occupied quite a bit of my attention over the past year or so). Hence the new look.

Having browsed through the themes available on WordPress.com (though I do wish they’d have a few more… WordPress.org has got absolutely masses!) I finally settled on this one. Liking it so far. Really like the nice clean appearance, and love the choice of typefaces.
Had a few problems with the widgets to begin with, then discovered the trick of removing all widgets before replacing the theme, then re-enabling the ones I wanted. Sorted!
And curiously, unless its my imagination, all the pics seem to look a bit better with this theme than they did with the last. Can’t really explain it cos they’re all embedded from Flickr as normal so the pics are the same… they just seem to look sort of “crisper”. Odd. The lesson clearly though is to pick a theme for an intended photoblog (or semi-photoblog) with some care.

Talking of pics, also replaced the default header of course. The present one is a cropped version of a shot I took in the village of Haynes, some miles south of Bedford, a few months back. Seemed to fit in well with the double connotations of the word “ramblings”.
And despite my well-known aversion to black and white I gave this one the “treatment” cos a coloured header just didn’t look right somehow.

Well, that’s about it for the mo’.

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Not Photography, Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New year, new look

  1. tam says:

    Looks great! I’ve always liked this theme.

    I like to change the look of my blog too (obviously). I am not sure I like the one I have currently. One thing I do like about it is the fact I can embed larger photos if I choose. I prefer the clean, simple look but the colors on my blog leave me wanting more. Who knows, I may change it again real soon…provided I find something that I REALLY like.

  2. fotdmike says:

    Yeah, I spotted your theme change Tam (or was it two?). Not sure whether your having done it first put the idea in my head or not, but it seemed like a good time to do it.

    Regarding embedding larger photos, one of the things I’m always consious of is that some visitors may still be using older machines with less system resources, so pages with larger photos on can sometimes take a while to load.
    That’s one of the reasons I embed the “medium” size from Flickr… so if someone wants to see a larger version they can simply click through whereas the medium size isn’t too demanding of machine resources.

    😉

  3. tam says:

    Regarding the photos, I’ve never thought of that… Good point. Perhaps I’ll look for another theme, the one I’ve got now is just not doing anything for me.

  4. forkboy says:

    Naturally Mike would be thinking about “those” with antiquated machines.

    I wonder if I’m supposed to follow suit and take advantage of a new theme myself? Maybe a new theme each year just to shake things up a bit?

  5. fotdmike says:

    I always remember the issue of machine compatibility when I do web-related stuff. Cross-browser compatibility also. Though I don’t have the statistics to hand right at the mo’, I’d think it fairly certain that the majority of pc users don’t have the latest machines, or even necessarily highly-spec’d ones. The principle’s sort of one of the fundamentals of good/sound web-design practise.

    Hmm… a new theme every year? Not a chance!

  6. Maggie says:

    I like the new look. Its definitly different, and different can allways be nice.

  7. fotdmike says:

    Thanks Maggie. Yeah, I have a suspicion this one’s gonna be a bit of a winner for me in terms of feeling really comfortable with it.

    🙂

  8. Pingback: Another new look! | Adventures of an Idiot – occasional ramblings of a photography freak

Leave a Reply

