I just about managed it

Fun and games with my contribution to the monthly theme project. It really had me stumped although I did finally manage to dredge up an idea that fit the bill. Providing one interprets the theme title of “Street Antiquity” very loosely. (And in fairness we’d all agreed right at the outset that we could interpret a given theme however the hell we wanted.)

After a bit of jiggery-pokery with a couple of photos (two, that is… not one) I finally ended up with a pic (one, that is… not two) that I felt I could submit.

Not my best project effort by any means though.

_G102212_edit

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Photography Chat and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I just about managed it

  1. Maggie says:

    I really like this. How were you able to get it to do that effect.

  2. fotdmike says:

    Thanks Maggie. Well, I don’t normally do much messing around like this with photos, but when I do I tend to use either Photofiltre or Photoscape (both freebie programs).

    In this particular instance I converted both pics to JPEGs in Lightroom and adjusted their tone etc a bit then opened them in Photofiltre.
    Flipped the street pic (cos originally the houses were on the right); selected an area of the ruins pic that I wanted to use then merged it with the street pic; adjusted the opacity of the merge; tweaked the contrast and tone (plus cropping a little bit) and voila… all done!
    Took me about 10/15 minutes.

  3. Maggie says:

    Sounds a tiny bit more complicated then it was.

  4. fotdmike says:

    Yeah, it was actually quite easy. I think the real trick is in picking the right photos from the start. Some combinations simply don’t lend themselves to this sort of treatment.

  5. forkboy says:

    Just think of each picture as a layer Maggie. One forms the base and the other is the layer on top. He then adjusts the opacity (the ‘see through’ ability, you will) of the top picture/layer such that you can see through it to the base layer.

    He just liked using all that fancy jargon because he rarely gets to do such. Most times he just shoots in JPEG and uploads directly from his camera.

  6. fotdmike says:

    Lying yet again I see. I think it must be congenital.
    😉

  7. Maggie says:

    That does make more sense!

  8. tam says:

    I think it’s great. Very neat idea and one that makes me wonder if I have any pics I could do this with. 😉

  9. fotdmike says:

    Thanks Tam. The technique’s certainly quite fun to play with and, if you get the right pics, it offers all sorts of possibilities.

    So, have fun!

    🙂

  10. forkboy says:

    Well, when you get the right pics you should really give it a try.

    😉

Leave a Reply

