Scary!

One of the other great loves of my life (for it seems that photography, particularly of the digital variety, is rapidly becoming such) has always been music.
Not the playing thereof, at which I’m absolutely crap (though in the days of my misspent youth I was known to sing a few folk songs now and then), but the listening thereto.

Somewhat surprising therefore that for the past couple of years or so (coinciding, curiously, with my plunge into the world of photography) my world has been rather music-absent. At home anyway.
Almost certainly accounted for by this damned obsession I appear to have developed for things photo-related.

“This will not do!” I finally tell myself. And set about remedying the situation.

Strange how interests merge though. For no sooner had I re-enabled my “music centre” than I find myself staring at it and thinking “I could try taking a pic of that”. So I did (pretty naff one as it turns out though)…

_G101921_edit_nr

But I can’t let this pass without a word or two about the “setup”.

Its an old Toshiba laptop (now dedicated to playing music) that I hooked up to my “music library” stored on an external hard drive.
Plugged in to a Creative Soundblaster external sound card, which is feeding a set of Logitech 5.1 speakers.

For the actual “playing bit” I’m using the freebie Quintessential player… cos its great (though their site appears to be offline at the mo’)!
OS is Win2K Pro.

Now here’s the frightening bit…

The sound card and speakers cost a little over a total of a hundred quid (about four years or so ago I think). Yet the sound I’m getting from them in terms of quality, dynamic range etc is comparable to the six grand CD-only stereo setup I had a decade or so ago!
Ok, I’ve lost a bit in terms of stereo separation (only to be expected really given the present speaker configuration) but that’s more than compensated for by the sheer solidity, weight, and authority of the music.

Dammit, I’d forgotten how good it all sounds.

Scary!

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Kit, Photography Chat and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Scary!

  1. forkboy says:

    Ah, the muse that is music. I really enjoy listening to the music I have burned onto my computer while I’m processing pictures. Seeing how it usually takes a while it means I get to listen for a prolonged period of time.

    And that does sound like a smart set up. I’ve been actually contemplating a media playing device for connection to the ground floor stereo. I already have the wireless Logitech DJ system, but it gets a bit fidgety on occasion and I think I’d like something more fully featured.

  2. fotdmike says:

    Well, I can’t really fault the setup I’ve got. If I was going to be real finnicky I’d have to say its a bit heavy on bass with some tracks, but that’s easily remedied either by using Quintessential’s built-in equaliser or getting one or another of some really effective plugins for the player.

    The effect may well in part be attributable to the room which, because of its furnishings etc, tends to absorb the treble a tad. Also, I don’t think the positioning of the sub-woofer is ideal, but other considerations had to come into play. For example, I don’t want to be tripping over the damn thing every time I come in the room!

  3. forkboy says:

    Oh I don’t know…tripping about in your new boots is the way of dashing Bedford men-about-town types such as yourself.

    😉

  4. fotdmike says:

    Quite possibly… although the one place I don’t wear boots is at home. There its either sandals or barefoot.

    On second thoughts though, were I to stub my toes on the sub-woofer too frequently I just might reconsider.

  5. forkboy says:

    As you should…

Leave a Reply

