It just had to be done

_G101912

One of the many things I was never warned about when I was conned into this photography caper (yet another thump owed to someone methinks) was the fact that one seems to do a helluva lot of walking!

Miles an’ miles an’ miles in fact.

Good exercise… good for the old heart, lungs and leg muscles I s’pose. But the downside is the footwear!
Gotta be comfortable, sturdy, supportive, waterproof, warm (yet not too hot in the summer), lightweight… oh, loadsa stuff. Plus they have to bear all that extra weight of photo kit etc.
And given that my “going out taking pics” boots are the same ones as my “wandering round the town shopping” boots, the same ones as my “tramping around campsites for days at a time” and my “going out to dodgy places photographing protests and the like” boots, which means they’re also the same as my “running towards interesting happenings” boots and my “running very rapidly away from trouble cos I’m a raving coward” boots… well, they have to be pretty hard-wearing!

Yep, you’ve guessed it, I only ever have one pair of boots at a time. Sob sob.

Anyway, the last pair I bought seemed to fit all the requirements… and they were dead comfortable. Well pleased I was. But here I am, about 18 months on, and what do I find? Bloody great holes in the sides, that’s what!

Well, I put up with them for about a month or so, watching these holes getting larger by the day, until I’ve finally had to give in and scrape together the dosh for a new pair. It just had to be done.
Different make this time though.

Berghaus.

Gotta rucksack of theirs and its super. Best one I’ve ever had in fact. And I rate their waterproof jackets highly (even if they are a tad overpriced). So thought I’d give their footwear a try.

First impressions? Wow! But perhaps I should get a few miles under me soles first.

_G101916

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Kit, Photography Chat and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It just had to be done

  1. forkboy says:

    Most excellent! Nothing like a pair of great hiking boots….warm, but not overly so….Gortex’d for water resistance….just great all round.

    Now you’ll be the dashing young man about town!

  2. fotdmike says:

    More like tripping over my own feet trying to get used to the new footwear!

  3. forkboy says:

    In Bedford tripping over one’s own feet may be dashing!

  4. fotdmike says:

    Well, dashing away from the thugs and muggers, yeah!

  5. Pingback: These boots were made for walking « Adventures of an Idiot - occasional ramblings of a photography freak

Leave a Reply

