Photos AWOL… courtesy of Flickr

Sometimes I question the wisdom of hosting the majority of my pics on Flickr and using embed codes here on the blog to display ’em.

This is one of those occasions.

For once more Flickr appear to be having problems as, at least as far as my browsing’s concerned, the Flickr pages are laboriously slow to load and when they eventually do most graphics aren’t showing and the page formatting’s… um… absent.
Nor are pics linked to with embed codes displaying. Er… well, they weren’t when I checked a couple of hours ago, but they appear to be doing so now. That’s something at least.

Style sheet issues? Database issues? Who the hell knows. Checking the help forum there at least I’ve got the comfort of knowing I’m not alone with the problem.
Various possibilities are being floated as the cause but with Flickr themselves, as normal, seeming to be extremely reluctant to accept responsibility.
The most likely suggestion I’ve seen so far is a comment by one user that “It appears that http://www.yahoo.com has made several DNS changes over the past week. For whatever reason, the changes did not propagate smoothly across the internet.”
I also notice, on the unformatted photostream page that loads, there appears to be a couple of new features. Clearly yet another unasked-for innovation from Flickr. Now the glitch couldn’t be anything to do with that could it, I wonder? No, of course not. Silly me.

One thing I do know for sure… I’ve checked everything relevant my end and its all as it should be.

Guess I’ll just have to wait for the glitch to resolve itself, which seems to be the favourite remedy for Flickr glitches… not suggesting for one tiny moment that the problem’s related to anything Flickr/Yahoo may have done of course.

Would happen at just the time I’ve got a batch of really super photos to upload… perfect in every respect. Loads of ’em. But I don’t doubt, as is the way with these things, that once Flickr’s back to functioning normally again somehow all these super pics will mysteriously disappear from my hard drive. Hmm.
😉

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Photography Chat and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Photos AWOL… courtesy of Flickr

  1. Pingback: All is forgiven « Adventures of an Idiot - occasional ramblings of a photography freak

  2. forkboy says:

    Well you know how things go….awry. But they do seem to manage to work them out, don’t they?

  3. forkboy says:

    But have they worked through any of the glitches?

Leave a Reply

