Frustrations

_G108449

Bright and early this morning (well, certainly early though not very bright. But then, I rarely am nowadays!) thought I’d start tackling my contribution for this month to that weird photo project thingy I might’ve mentioned before.

I’d got it all planned out in my head what I wanted to do. It was just a matter of setting everything up and… er… doing it.
Can’t say I’d approached the task with much enthusiasm. For days previously I’d been increasingly beset by doubts… that for whatever reason I wouldn’t get the shot I wanted. Somehow it just wouldn’t happen, or wouldn’t look as I could see it in my mind.
And as I began to set everything up (quite an involved task really, given the apparent simplicity of the “final product”) these doubts transformed into an utter conviction, such that I was on the verge of just scrapping the whole idea and having a huge rethink.

But no.

With “obstinacy” as my middle name I ploughed on and started off with a few test shots.

Hmm. Not too bad.

In fact, sufficient for me to get quite involved in the job at hand, all earlier uncertainties slowly falling away. Yep, its definitely gonna work.
Completed the first batch of a dozen or so (with the 400D) and rushed upstairs to transfer them to the computer so I could see what I’d got (I never rely too much on the camera’s LCD).

And what I’d got was… um… well, clearly the potential was there, but not quite what I wanted.
So downstairs again for the second batch, this time using the GX10.

And… result!

Only problem was, when I started on my final selection and processing it became quite obvious that the lens (the bog-standard 18-55 kit lens that came with the camera) clearly wasn’t up to the job. Damn! How bloody frustrating!
So I really can’t put off for much longer getting a better lens.

Nevertheless, I consoled myself with the fact that although there are technical flaws with the shot it is at least very close (in terms of image) to what I’d wanted to achieve.
So I uploaded the shot to Flickr and posted to our group blog.

But then I revisited my selection (bad move!) and, frustratingly, began to wonder whether, of those I’d shortlisted, the shot I’d finally chosen as the project contribution was in fact the best one to use. Oh blast… decisions, decisions. And here’s the one that’s the cause of this new lot of doubts…

_G108448

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Photography Chat and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Frustrations

  1. forkboy says:

    Weird? You calling my glorious five-year plan ‘weird’?

    Humph.

    So you had this image in your mind of what you wished to create. You then staged the requisite items for the image. You utilized lighting to create your effect. And then using the medium of a CMOS or CCD sensor you captured the image in a digital format, then tweaked it via software.

    You know where I’m going with this, don’t you?

    😉

  2. forkboy says:

    Happy to have me back?

  3. fotdmike says:

    Uh oh… he’s back! Now am I happy about that? Lemme think about that for a while.

    😉

  4. fotdmike says:

    Um, oh yeah…

    “So you had this image in your mind of what you wished to create. You then staged the requisite items for the image. You utilized lighting to create your effect.”

    …and then I took a photo.

    ” And then using the medium of a CMOS or CCD sensor you captured the image in a digital format, then tweaked it via software.”

    Of course, I could have got out the old easel and canvas and paints and stuff and turned it into a work of art. But I didn’t. I went for the easy/lazy option and simply took a photograph instead.

    🙂

  5. forkboy says:

    I do so love the give and take in this relationship.

Leave a Reply

