Reporting (not quite live) from the Bear…

Precisely how, or perhaps more significantly why, have I somehow fallen into the role of documenting all the latest breathtaking happenings at The Bear pub in Bedford?

Possibly something to do with the fact that I happen to frequent that establishment on a fairly regular basis.
And that I tend to take quite a few photographs therein.
And (the whole rationale for this blog in the first place) that way back when I thought it’d be a neat idea to tie Flickr photo uploads to a little story wherever possible.

So…

Wait for it…

Herewith the announcement that The Bear now has a new pool table. Tra-laa…

_G107714

_G107716 _G107708

_G107710 _G107722

There. Wasn’t that exciting?

Of course, what I’d really like to know is why my mate at The Bear always seems intent on visiting physical violence upon my person whenever I see him… this time with a pool cue!

_G107725

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Photography Chat and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Reporting (not quite live) from the Bear…

  1. tam says:

    HA HA!

    Precisely how, or perhaps more significantly why, have I somehow fallen into the role of documenting all the latest breathtaking happenings at The Bear pub in Bedford?

    ooooo, pick me, pick me…..Could it be because you have a two friends in the states that are DYING to visit Bedford (and The Bear) and are having to live vicariously?

  2. fotdmike says:

    Wow… I suddenly feel a huge sense of responsibility descend upon my shoulders.

    Hmm… wonder if I can get a grant from the local Council for boosting the town’s potential tourist trade by at least 100%. (Most folk don’t come here to visit. Generally people can’t wait to get away!)

  3. fotddarren says:

    I’m not sure what it is about you that makes me wanna hurt you, could it be revenge for All the times you’ve hurt me in the past, need I mention Sledgehammers, Iron bath’s so on and so forth!

  4. fotdmike says:

    Ah… yes… I’d sort of forgotten about those. But what about you kicking me into the ditch then?

  5. tam says:

    wait, wait…what? You hit fotddarren with a sledgehammer? um…. then you got kicked into a ditch? You guys sure you’re mates? hmmmmm

  6. fotdmike says:

    Yeah, well, I sort of hit him with a sledgehammer… well, it was a lump hammer actually… much smaller so not sure it really counts.
    Then I dropped an iron bath on top of him. Not immediately afterwards. It was some time later. And he was in a hole anyway so that doesn’t count either.

    But he kicked me into a ditch… an entirely unprovoked assault. Completely unwarranted. In fact, I think I’m probably still very miffed about it.

  7. fotddarren says:

    Well what about YOU giving ME, CONCUSSION after hitting me with a reel of Sellotape.
    Let’s look at this shall we, you – lump hammer, iron bath, sellotape, me – one tiny little ditch, sounds a bit uneven to me.

  8. fotdmike says:

    Yeah, but I didn’t mean to give you concussion… and I’m sure you musta done something to provoke it. (Though I must admit, you turning that weird shade of grey was quite funny.)
    Whereas you definitely acted with malicious aforethought when kicking me into the ditch. And it was a bloody huge ditch, full of nettles and stuff.

    And what about all those other times when I’ve been ready to lend a hand, eh, eh?
    The TCP and the leg? The apis and the eye? The poison in the coffee… um… no, let’s forget the coffee on second thoughts.

  9. tam says:

    Nope, you went there.. let’s hear about the poison in the coffee. 🙂

  10. fotdmike says:

    Well, despite all his nasty paranoid accusations there obviously wasn’t any (as I kept on telling him) cos he’s still here.

    Anyway, dunno why he has to keep on raking over the past. Let bygones be bygones is what I say. But oh no. Not him. Just gotta keep on holding all those little mishaps against me. I’m deeply, deeply saddened. Boo hoo! 😦

  11. forkboy says:

    Tamela….remember to pack a pool cue and I’ll bring the steel-toed boots.

    Clearly Bedford is a dangerous place!

  12. fotdmike says:

    Well, I did keep warning you. And we’re the gentle ones!

  13. fotddarren says:

    I was gentle, I think the poison coffee has had a serious effect on my psyche, all those little incidents with the ditch and so forth, I’m sure is the result.
    Why is it I only feel aggressive when you’re about eh?

  14. fotdmike says:

    Why a harmless inoffensive person such as myself should elicit that sort of response I have absolutely no idea. P’raps its cos you’re a bully?

    😉

Leave a Reply

