Another day in the life of The Bear

Mooching through town I receive a text message on my mobile from my mate advising me that The Bear’s closed today for an indeterminate period due to “things”. But that the rear entrance is open should I be inclined to visit. Hmm. So, having attended to a few chores (pay a coupla bills, pick up the weekly supply of baccy, pop into my favourite camping supplies shop etc) my next port of call, inevitably, has to be The Bear. And whaddo I find? The presence of the cellar maintenance guys from the brewery, with a rather swish van…

_G106130

Apparently they’re replacing all the beer lines. And replacing the beer cooler. So out goes the old one (a remnant of the days when I used to live there and look after the cellar)…

_G106134

Well, with all this activity there’s nowt much for mate and I to do, so he makes me a coffee. Which of course is most welcome. So there am I, chilling out in the “beer garden” ‘neath one of the sun brollies…

_G106150

when, bugger me! I espy something else new. Planters! To go with the hanging baskets…

_G106188 _G106173

And that’s not all! Apparently the landlord, in his infinite wisdom, has decreed the installation of yet another cctv camera in the garden…

_G106132

But the excitement doesn’t end even there! Now (though you’ve only got my word for it), I’m not particularly given to taking photographs inside mens’ toilets. Could lead to all sorts of undesirable and unwarranted speculations. But today I just had to make an exception. For what should have appeared on the walls of the mens’ loos at the Bear? Graffiti! And not just any graffiti, but quite elaborate works of art. So of course I had to scurry therein equipped with camera…

_G106140

Of course, it has to be said that these aren’t just the normal “quick while no-one’s looking” type efforts, but actual genuine “official” graffiti. In fact, I’m not even sure they should even be called graffiti.

_G106139

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Photography Chat and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Another day in the life of The Bear

  1. forkboy says:

    The bathroom is rather interesting. I’m going to have to check this out on Flickr.

    Planters? CCTV? Yep. Cinzano umbrellas are next and a waiter named Manuel (forgive him….he’s from Barcelona).

  2. fotdmike says:

    Bathroom? What bathroom?

    Toilet, yet. WC, yes. Loo even, yes. (Won’t mention the… um… less “polite” usages). But bathroom? That’s where baths hang out. And there ain’t no baths downstairs at The Bear.

    I dunno. You Yanks sure are funny!

    😉

  3. forkboy says:

    Yeah, yeah, yeah. And you don’t know what aluminum is either, right?

  4. tam says:

    These are great pictures. I agree with forkboy, the loo graffiti is very interesting. Whoever drew all that is a very good artist.

    Manuel? HA HA. I love that show!

  5. fotdmike says:

    Ahem forkboy… I take it you’re intending “aluminium”?

  6. forkboy says:

    If I had meant aluminium I would have said aluminium.

  7. fotdmike says:

    Well, in that case you’ve got me stumped. So its another weird Yank term for a loo is it?

  8. fotddarren says:

    No the bogs are made out of porcelain

  9. fotdmike says:

    PORCELAIN! Now that’s the word I was searching for. Cheers mate!

Leave a Reply

