Something a bit different

As a general rule I don’t like doing “indoors shots” at home… mainly cos lighting’s usually a bitch, and very few things there jump out and shout “photograph me”.

The first issue I’ve sort of overcome by my fairly extensive experimentation at The Bear pub where the lighting conditions are, to say the very least, “interesting”!
But the second issue… ah, that’s a different matter entirely. Familiarity is of course the cause of the problem, so the solution obviously is to try to see things “as with a stranger’s eyes”. Hmm.

Ages ago a mate of mine suggested that its a good exercise to occasionally try shooting things different to one’s “normal” pics, for all sorts of very good reasons.

Then, not so very long ago, an internet photo buddy of mine shot a rather delightful series of wine bottles and suchlike.
Well, this (coupled with that ages-old suggestion that’s always been lurking in the back of my mind) set me to thinking.

And what I ended up with was this short series of shots around the theme “In the Kitchen”!

_MG_6148

_MG_6168 _MG_6144 _MG_6139

_MG_6149 _MG_6155

Now these are doubly interesting for a certain person who shall remain nameless has occasionally passed the odd comment here and there implying that I’m somewhat secretive about my abode (bloody cheek!).
Well, having shot this little series I decided to create a brand new Flickr set, “Around the Home”, and include therein the odd one or two relevant shots I may have taken in the past.
Lo and behold, it seems I’ve actually done quite a few (so much for those rumours of “secretiveness”!). You can see the complete set here.

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Photography Chat and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Something a bit different

  1. forkboy says:

    ‘Bloody cheek’ here…..or is that ‘who shall remain nameless’….Bravo! I’m so very excited to see the results of your work and that you blogged same.

    And regarding seeing the usual through the eyes of a ‘stranger’, I can’t think of anyone more strange than you.

    😉

  2. fotdmike says:

    Hi oh Nameless One! Thought you’d be pleased.

    “I can’t think of anyone more strange than you”

    I take that as a real compliment. 🙂

  3. tam says:

    Wonderful photos! I enjoyed every one of them. 🙂

  4. fotdmike says:

    Thanks Tam. Had to re-upload a couple of them cos the colour balance was a bit off (damn Flickr and its optimising!) but they all seem reasonably ok now.

Leave a Reply

