At long last!

_G105551

Well, conscience has finally gotten the better of my innate laziness! Prompted, no doubt, by some little discussion recently on the state of my back garden.

So, having spent a day psyching myself up, I finally tackled the veritable forest with the intention of at least clearing a path through the first section.

_G105568

Its been a sort of tradition in this household, for at least the past ten or twelve years, that the back garden has been thought of as comprising three sections. The first and closest to the house consists of, amongst other things, a space for the clothes line; the garden shed; and a lovely little clearing shaded by a couple of gnarled apple trees, ideal for meditation and suchlike.
The second section was converted into a vegetable garden a few years ago, and the third and furthest section has always been a bit of a wilderness… rarely frequented by anyone in the house (and, it is suspected, used as a bit of a waste-tipping ground by the neighbours!).

_G105555

_G105569

Well, this momentous occasion had to be marked in some way, so what better than to get out the cameras and record the progress so far. Mind you, the unaccustomed manual labour, bringing muscles into play I’d forgotten I had, didn’t do any favours for the old “holding the camera steady” business.

Of course, how long the effort will last is another matter entirely. Judging by past performance I fully expect to be back to my normal lazy self within a month or so!

_MG_6042

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Photography Chat and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to At long last!

  1. tam says:

    Lazy? Nonsense. Perhaps gardening and pruning isn’t your thing. Just think of all the wildlife you’ve provided sanctuary for. ha ha

    All joking aside, the photos are great. It’s nice to see your world.

  2. forkboy says:

    I think it’s great you’re performing a bit of pruning and clearing! It would seem, from the pictures you have posted, that you could have quite the oasis.

    And if it makes you feel any better, and I’m certain it won’t, I’ve been doing some yard work as well, which includes a new retaining wall and some landscaping. I guess I’ll have to post a picture of the wall now……

  3. Pingback: Playing Follow the Leader « Forkboy’s Photographic Travails

  4. fotdmike says:

    Aha… a trackback from the nameless one! Now everyone can see the grand mansion in which the nameless one resides, and marvel at his good fortune (huge house, loadsa cats, and a Canon 40D! What more could one ask for? And there’s me, only able to afford a humble 400D. Dammit!)

  5. forkboy says:

    Excuse me….that’s the FAMOUS nameless one.

    And who in this relationship has TWO digital SLR cameras? AND a titanium tripod? And fancy photo editing software?

    Humble 400D/Rebel XTi my arse!

  6. fotdmike says:

    Um… yeah… well… now you come to mention it… maybe there is another camera lurking somewhere. And maybe there is a titanium tripod knocking around, and I might possibly have some reasonably good photo-editing software.

    But I still live in a hovel compared to your mansion… and I haven’t got huge lenses… and my Canon’s only a 400D!

    Can’t argue with the facts y’know!

    😈

  7. forkboy says:

    You do too have a huge lens lurking around in your kit! I’ve seen the numbers in your EXIF data…something like 350 maybe.

    Your camera must be better – it has an extra zero over mine!

    😉

  8. fotdmike says:

    Aha, clearly you’ve been fooled by the KM (the point & shoot) which (as I’m sure I’ve mentioned before) has a 12x optical zoom, roughly equivalent to a 420 lens. Its ok I s’pose, but full zoom’s pretty useless in anything less than ideal circumstances.
    The longest “real” lens I’ve got is only a 250! 😦

  9. forkboy says:

    420mm still beats my 400mm!

    And I only have the 100-400mm thanks to the wife. Hey! That’s what you need! A posh girlfriend who will splash lots of dosh on you.

    Maybe that lady constable from one of your pictures? I’m certain she knows someone with camera equipment….. (“Allo? FIT Division?”)

    😉

  10. fotdmike says:

    There’s lots of things I need, but I suspect a female isn’t one of them!
    Anyway, no lady in her right mind would have anything to do with me… wot with me being so obnoxious an’ all!

  11. forkboy says:

    Well that I can understand.

  12. Pingback: A day in the life of « Adventures of an Idiot - occasional ramblings of a photography freak

Leave a Reply

