Ah well, can’t win ‘em all… revisited

but at least I can win some of ’em!

_G103694_pf

I’ve got this mate (yes, I do have at least one!). Who’s got this girlfriend (lucky him!). Who just happens to work in a shop. And has done one of the window displays for it. And asked him (my mate that is) to take a few pics of it (the window display that is).

Well, the opportunity was just too good to miss, so I just had to muscle in on the act in my own inimitable fashion.

So here’s the situation…

Shop window, loads of glass, sun reflecting straight off it (plus reflections of passers-by etc), shadows cast by photographers (i.e., us!) cos the sun was sort of to our backs.
Golden opportunity to revisit all the mistakes of yesterday (see previous post) re the polarising filter (for this was obviously exactly the right sort of situation in which to use it.

And its the first time I’ve ever tried to capture a window display. In the normal course of events its not really my “thing”.

I have to say (well, I don’t, but I will) that I’m quite pleased with the results. This time I was adjusting the amount of polarisation whilst facing towards the light source and I think that’s done the trick. Must remember that for next time I use it.

Re the display itself… given that “charity shops” (which is the nature of the enterprise in which she works) are necessarily limited in terms of stock and props, I think she did rather well in a tasteful sort of way, and I really like that she’s marked St George’s Day (the patron saint of England, for those that don’t already know) 23rd April.

_G103698_pf _G103697_pf

_G103701_pf _G103696_pf _G103693_pf

_G103691_pf _G103686_pf _G103704_pf

_G103685_pf

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Photography Chat and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ah well, can’t win ‘em all… revisited

  1. forkboy1965 says:

    Um…..so you’re shopping for dresses now? Is that it? Do you need to tell us something mate?

  2. fotdmike says:

    Dammit… my secret’s out at last!

    🙂

  3. forkboy1965 says:

    Well at least you’re frugal…..being it’s the Salvation Army.

    Hey! Maybe they have a selection of gently used dSLR equipment?

  4. Pingback: Now I wonder if that’s deliberate? « Adventures of an Idiot - occasional ramblings of a photography freak

Leave a Reply

