Latest Flickr Uploads #7

Travelling home from work this morning I was almost hypnotised by the sky. It was big. It was red. It was gold. It was crying out to be photographed.

Impatient for the journey to end, when it did I rushed indoors, festooned myself with cameras (two actually), and hastened out again.

But alas, too late. This time of the day the sky seems to change minute by minute and by the time I arrived at a reasonable vantage point most of the grandeur had passed.
Fired off a couple of shots but none of them do justice to the spectacle I’d witnessed just a short while before.

However…

The village in which I live is a bit of a curious one in that most of the residents prefer to keep themselves to themselves (or perhaps its just me!).
Consequently, although I know and am on quite good terms with the neighbours either side, that’s about it really. Don’t know anyone else there (and I’ve been there nearly a decade now), they don’t know me, and conversation never happens.

I don’t have a problem with that.

So, scurrying along to catch the sunrise I pass a young lady walking her pair of dogs. Seen her before on a couple of occasions and exchanged nods sorta thing.
Having passed her, I hear an “Excuse me” and, ever polite, I stop mid-step and turn around, looking askance.
“Don’t know if you’re interested” she says, “but there’s a pair of barn owls at the end of the lane.”
“Oh great, thanks” say I, and we proceed on our respective journeys.

Must have spotted the cameras and assumed… well… dunno really.

Didn’t actually manage to spot the barn owls. Almost certainly too preoccupied with the sky.
But in some curious way I was truly touched by her gesture. That she had made a point of stopping and mentioning the owls to me, a complete stranger, seemed to me an incredibly kind thing to do.

So mystery lady with the dogs, whoever you are, thankyou!

_MG_4510 _G102608 _G102610

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Photography Chat and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Latest Flickr Uploads #7

  1. saumya says:

    Wow! Awesome photographs.

  2. fotdmike says:

    Hey saumya, thanks. Pity I didn’t get out about 20 minutes earlier when it was really magnificent!

  3. forkboy1965 says:

    Great snaps, sir! I was thinking yesterday of your other set of sunrise/sunset photos you posted the other day. I don’t have any flat vistas that offer the same sort of vantage as your pictures have shown, but we had a very gorgeous early morning sky and I thought I would take a few pics from my bedroom window on the second floor.

    By the time I pulled out the camera and tripod (all of 5-minutes or so) the scene had changed sufficiently that it no longer was as picturesque.

    I’m glad to know I’m not the only one who has recently encountered this problem.

  4. fotdmike says:

    Thankee kindly!

    You wouldn’t believe how many times I’ve been caught like that in the past!
    Trying to be cunning I’ve developed the technique of calculating when sunrise should be then getting out to the chosen location about a half-hour or so before and getting set up ready to catch the various stages of the sunrise.
    But even that can backfire, cos just when you think you’re all set the conditions change and it just turns out to be a really grey dawn or something.
    Sunset of course is a bit easier as then at least you’ve got some idea of what sky-scenes are likely to develop.

    But no doubt there’ll always be occasions, like yesterday morning, when the session is completely spontaneous and then it really is a race against time. Though I s’pose that’s part of the fun.

    As for the flat vistas, I really am getting a tad bored with them now. Unfortunately I’m surrounded by them on all sides (when I can get clear of the hedges, that is). The only things I’ve got to ring the changes are house roofs or trees. And if I’m feeling really adventurous I might include the odd telegraph pole or lamp-post here and there!

Leave a Reply

