Latest Flickr Uploads #3

Haynes

Haynes is about nine miles or so south of Bedford and in fact consists of four different small villages or maybe large hamlets… Silver End, Northwood End, Church End, and West End (didn’t quite manage to get to West End… maybe another time).

Its a bit of a strange village in that it stretches across quite a considerable swathe of countryside (its about a 3.5/4 mile walk from one end to the other) yet is actually quite narrow.

I was a bit slow developing any real enthusiasm for this particular session, but I got there eventually. Ended up taking about 200+ shots (though the final edit left me with only about 70-odd!).

Both cameras performed reasonably well (provided I paid close attention to the position of the sun, which stupidly I sometimes failed to do) and overall the quality of the light was superb, enabling me to get some really vivid skies and rich colours.
One minor glitch was that somehow I’d inadvertently set the Canon to ISO 1600 which I didn’t discover till after I’d taken the first half-dozen or so shots. Irritating, as I’ve developed the habit of checking all settings before setting out on a session, so don’t quite know how that happened.

IMG_4254 IMG_4194 SG102142 SG102014 IMG_4259

The complete Haynes set is here.

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Photography Chat and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Latest Flickr Uploads #3

  1. forkboy1965 says:

    I don’t know about either the Rebel (sorry, 400D) or the Samsung, but I think on the 400D there may be a reset option buried in a menu. It will reset the camera to default settings without deleting any personal menu or functions you have created.

    I need to check on my 40D for this option after my stupid move at the park the other day where I had left on the 2-second timer from the shoot the day before.

  2. forkboy1965 says:

    SG102156. Nice.

    You keep this up I’ll have no reason to visit the English countryside as I’ll have already seen it all!

  3. fotdmike says:

    Well, they say a picture’s worth a thousand words… so experiencing the place fo real has gotta be worth a thousand pictures.

  4. fotdmike says:

    On the reset issue, the Samsung’s got a reset option for that I think (something to do with selecting which settings to save on power-off I believe). Seem to recollect stumbling across it by chance one time.

    However, I’ve previously had cause to look for one on the Canon. Its conceivable its buried in the depths of a menu somewhere but I couldn’t find any mention in the manual when I looked for it. Had I found one it would’ve saved me a lot of worry at the time! (In fact, that was the subject of the first “proper” post to this blog, which originally sparked the whole idea of blogging my photo “adventures”!)

Leave a Reply

