Sometimes I despair…

SG102004 SG102003

SG102000 SG102005

… being a night worker I sleep during the day. Just getting ready to go to bed I glanced out the window and caught sight of the sky. And just couldn’t resist the urge to grab a camera, go outside, and fire off a few quick shots. Is there no hope for me?

About fotdmike

Occasional photographer; occasional writer/blogger; occasional activist; occasional computer-geek. Bit of a fool really.
This entry was posted in Photography Chat and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sometimes I despair…

  1. razzbuffnik says:

    Nice colours. Reminds me of those old Maxfield Parrish illustrations.

    “Is there no hope for me?”

    Sure, quit your night job and get a day job. Life is too short to be doing things that you don’t want to do.

  2. fotdmike says:

    Hey, thanks.

    Maxfield Parrsih? I’d never heard of him so looked him up on the web. Pleased I did. Nice illustrations.

    But quit the night job? Nah, its too much fun 😉

  3. forkboy1965 says:

    I’m so glad you grabbed your camera and snapped these. They really create quite a feeling….serenity, I think.

    Two questions:

    1) Did you lens include a polarizer?
    2) On the third picture (just the top of roofs along the bottom of the picture) there is a light streak running in the vertical on the right-hand side, slightly above and between the far right two chimneys. What is that?

  4. fotdmike says:

    Pleased you like them. No, didn’t use a polarising filter – most of the pics on the blog are actually hosted at Flickr and clcking on them will take you to the photo on Flickr and show the file name. I use the suffix “_pf” to indicate if a polarising filter has been used, and “_nr” if I’ve run them through noise reduction software.

    And that streak is an aircraft vapour trail… I’m about 15/20 miles away from Luton airport!

  5. forkboy1965 says:

    …..and if pigs could fly Scotland Yard would be London’s third airport.

    Or so I’ve heard before.

    😉

    (I know I just made some “list” in a dark room at an official building somewhere near Washington DC)

  6. fotdmike says:

    Oops… and they’ve probably just added you to the Met Police’s hit list as well, so be very wary if you ever come this way (they’ve got a tendency to shoot people on subways y’know) 😉

  7. forkboy1965 says:

    Got it. But back to the pics….I asked about the polarizer because the sky is just so blue in your pics. Maybe it’s the fact the sun isn’t yet up high enough to wash out the blue of the sky. They’re very pretty and I’m a bit jealous. We haven’t had a blue sky day in a while – just lots of clouds and snow, which I don’t mind, but it makes picture taking less fun.

  8. fotdmike says:

    I know what you mean. I’ve noticed this quite a bit actually, and can’t really account for it at the mo’. The other week I had a session where the first dozen pics or so had gorgeous blue sky etc, then for no apparent reason they just all went to pot, though I hadn’t changed anything on the camera, it was still sunny, etc. The only thing I can think of at the mo’ is that there must be some subtle change in the quality of the light as distinct from lighting conditions (sunny, cloudy, overcast etc), but its got me stumped.

    Re the filters, don’t think it would have accounted for the effect (cos I have it fitted to the Samsung all the time, and I don’t always get this lovely sky, even on sunny days) but I had a UV filter on the lens.

Leave a Reply

